Intuitive painting in my altered book

So what is intuitive painting, well that’s the greatest fun. When you don’t think too much, just get out a few tubes and apply them randomly on your project. Here I chose acrylics, wanted to have some warm colours, so I ended up with cadmium yellow hue deep, permanent green and mauve. I applied them with an old credit card to cover up the text in my altered book.

I loved how the text peeked through here and there (the advantage of working in an altered book). I wanted some more abstract textures, so I added some stamping with Finnabair’s clear texture stamp and watering can archival ink.

When I looked at my spread with the warm colours, especially that it is cold and grey outside, the first thing that jumped into my mind how lucky I am that I have a warm sweet home and a lovely supporting son. So decision made, it is going to be a city scape. And there came the third layer, forming my old fashioned and futuristic architectural creations:

Finally I added some doodles with black and white gel pen and some shadows and shades with charcoal. The downtown city is stamped with archival ink.

I really enjoyed spreading the paint without thinking too much, and then just to form shapes that slowly get into objects. Why don’t you give it a try? If you need some inspiration just jump over to Mixed media place blog Creative Gym exercise #4. I am sharing my spread with the challenge, you may do so as well!

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Intuitive painting in my altered book

  1. Lisette says:

    So I looked at the first photo’ and thought “divine colours” and then “loving those squares and then “Oh – it’s covered over – shame, I liked it as it was.” Then I saw the final photo’ and not only was I taken totally by surprise but also blown away, once again, by your creativity. Love your city downtown! πŸ™‚

  2. windinn says:

    That’s a great exercise, Ruth – and allowing the painting to tell you what it needs is such a Muse-Muscle-Relaxer. Love it.

  3. zksmith says:

    Love this technique, Ruth! Next on my list of things to try!

  4. Kay Wallace says:

    This appears to be a very freeing experiment, Ruth, and I love both your result and the motivation behind it. I checked out others’ work on the Mixed Media site, and am set to give this a go in my studio. I just bought some “canvas boards” yesterday, so will start there. Thanks for sharing this!

  5. Shel C says:

    Oh this is exactly what I need to try today Ruth. I am…stuck. I love how your’s turned out! And thanks for leading me to a new blog…it looks like they have some fun challenges over there πŸ™‚

  6. Vicky says:

    Great quirky, colorful houses

  7. kampysgirl says:

    Ah- yes, I too saw the city after you mentioned it- I am so happy your son is so loving and supportive- you have friends who also love and support you Ruth- ME- I’m one of them! xoxo

  8. This caught my eye immediately on the Creative Every Day linkup and I had to come take a closer look. πŸ™‚ Thanks so much for sharing your process in such detail! I love the shape of your architecture – I see hints of past, present and future in those lines and curves. And the shading at the end pulls everything together beautifully. Wonderful work!

  9. Lisa says:

    Great colors, technique, and final page!! Love the house motif!

  10. pbhum says:

    Great work as always! Thank you for joining the Mixed Media Place challenge!

  11. I Like this a lot Ruth!!

  12. Really awesome! Thank you for joining the Mixed Media Place challenge!

Leave a comment