Sparkle and shine

I just love working with found objects, you know with all those things that others think are junk, actually they are treasure for me, they can all sparkle and shine in my eyes. I made a bit of a make over on this canvas for my found objects.

Would you like to see what were my found objects? So here we go: first I made a collage from lace pieces and other canvas left-overs.

Then I added all kind of found objects: a wooden spin, some rope, a bottle cup, some trimming mats from the hardware store, an oversized button from an old winter coat.

Next I covered my whole composition with black gesso.

When it dried I added some colours with pearlescent liquid acrylic (platinum pink, galactic blue, sundown magenta).

Love those shining colours, but missed some more details, so I added some embellishments, here this metallic cord:

Or that paper flower, that I dipped into soft gel then into red glitter (was drying for a whole day).

I added glass beads on my bottle cup and some glass glitter underneath it (both platinum).

Those sparkling shining little squares are soft gels mixed with glass glitter.

And the galactic bottom of course:

Hope you enjoyed all the shine and sparkle.

I am sharing my canvas with Finnabair’s sparkle and shine challenge and with Paper Artsy’s shiny stuff challenge.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Canvas, Mixed media, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Sparkle and shine

  1. windinn says:

    Love seeing your process here, Ruth, and the results from such prosaic found objects are truly stunning!

  2. zksmith says:

    Lace collage! How original! Well, I was almost right about the metallic paint – pearlescent is very similar. It looks wonderful against the black background! Love it!

  3. Julie Short says:

    This is lovely. The black gesso pulls it together and then the colour over really works.

  4. i know exactly what you mean… I am doing a project with 5th graders in which they are making horses ala Deborah Butterfield…but out of all found objects on canvas…It is amazing what you can pull together

  5. Kay Wallace says:

    This is truly lovely, Ruth! I freaked out a bit when you covered the entire canvas with black gesso, but, then, you are the artist and you were so right! Going back in with your bits of color and additional elements made this a perfect mixed media canvas. Way to go! Good luck in your challenges.

  6. Vicky says:

    I always love seeing how you start with a random collage and transform it in something stunning.

  7. Marta says:

    Oh wow, you have such an unique eye for at. This is very inspiring project. Looove it. Thank you so much for sharing your work. Many thanks for taking part in Finnabair ‘Shine’ challenge. Love, Marta xx

  8. kampysgirl says:

    Ruth, your process always intrigues me and you know how fond I am of your shimmer and shine! Love it! xo

  9. Great use of so many treasures Ruth…
    you pulled them all together beautifully and then made them pop anew.
    Always fun seeing your step by step photos too!
    oxo

  10. I love that you have made something out of nothing! Fabulous composition too! Awesome!

  11. KOLOROWYptak says:

    This is a great piece of art!

  12. Great project! Love the composition, it really high lights the objects! Thank you for joining the Finnabair “Sparkle and Shine” challenge!

Leave a Reply

