For all that you do, thank you!

Thank you with a special card that has a flavour, a flavour of fine spices (as it is real you can even use it). Craft Hoarders Anonymous challenge #19 is all about saying thank you with a gift, with a card or with something special, so I thought to make a useful card.

For my background first I used Stampers Anonymous stamp (SCF007) with metallic distress paint on a white watercolour card stock.

I used this stamping as resist with my colour layer of distress inks (faded jeans, seedless preserves and evergreen bough).

I used again an Stampers Anonymous stamp (CMS 064) with black distress paint. I distress the edges with brushed corduroy (I also covered the white spots with it).

So this became my background. I applied on it a piece of burlap with brads. Then I made a little cone from a scrap left over, at the edge of it I added some lace, and on the front I made a red gift bow from ribbon. I filled my cone wit all kinds of fresh spices, that smells good and can be useful by baking or cooking like cinnamon or lemon slice (dried this time).

Finally I used Sizzix dies, the ribbon flag I cut from canvas sheet, and the letters were cut with Alphanumeric die from scrap left overs. I attached my flags to light jute rope and tadaah:

Thank you for all that you do!

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Cards, Mixed media, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to For all that you do, thank you!

  1. Ruth, this is just about the craftiest card I have ever seen! I absolutely love it from the base with all that awesome color and texture to the wonderful embellishments! I love it and so will the person who receives it! Blessings, my friend! πŸ™‚

  2. Susan Carol says:

    What an amazing card – full of texture and goodies. Lovely.

  3. Fascinated with your background and dimension.

  4. tabortooth says:

    Oh my, Ruth! !! How do you constantly out do yourself? ?!! First of all, that background us to die for — the color, the textures, the stampings are exquisite. You must make note cards out of that!
    Second, your cone is brilliant! !
    Third, the added spices is over the top, drop dead gorgeous, stunning and oh so clever! !

    • lerusho says:

      Sylvia, thank you, I try to think of something new always, try to make a step further to experiment, sometimes it looks great, sometimes it’s only second grade, but I love playing and that’s the most important! xox πŸ™‚

  5. Lisette says:

    Oh wow – a whole new level of card making. Totally brilliant – just wish I could capture the smells too πŸ™‚

    • lerusho says:

      Lisette, my friend, you make such a great shadow boxes, I thought I need to come up with something 3D, so I made a cone, by the way is there a cone die? I still don’t have a cone die… hmmmm…

  6. zksmith says:

    This is just out of this world, Ruth! How on earth do you come up with these ideas?

  7. smithgfb says:

    Such a beautiful and creative card you have created. I love the cone filled with spices! Thanks for joining us at Craft Hoarders Anonymous!

  8. Absolutely love. The dimension is awesome.
    Thanks for sharing with us at Craft Hoarders Anon πŸ™‚

  9. lostcoastscrapper1 says:

    Beautiful, amazing bg work! Thanks for joining us at Craft Hoarders Anonymous!

  10. I love this sooooo much! It’s just filled with texture, color, dimension and fabulously composed. The fact that you used real spices makes me very, very happy! The cone is such a fun play on the traditional cornucopia, that it delights me. The banner is the cherry on top! Love, this! Thanks for sharing them with us at Craft Hoarders Anonymous!

  11. I wish my computer had smell-vision or something! I love the mixed media background, too. The other day, i used scented embossing powder to make a card that smelled like snickerdoodles! Yum! hee hee Thanks for sharing your work with us at Craft Hoarders Anonymous!

    • lerusho says:

      Thanks Gloria, I wish there would be a way to share flavours via the net, it smells really great, I think I will leave it on my shelf for a while πŸ™‚ Thanks for the great challenges!

Leave a Reply

