Fly with faded layers

Ready to fly? Challenge #8 at Compendium of curiosities vol 3. is faded layers (pg 58). You can get inspired by the beautiful creations of the DT team and you can join the fun just follow the link above. If you need more explanation you can order the book here. And if you need some supply this week you can visit The Funkie Junkie Boutique who sponsors this challenge.

So after all the explanation please FLY with me:

Th background of my tag is made with faded layer technique, I used 2 colors: sunset orange and purple twilight (time of the butterflies), and Tim Holtz’s doily stencil, here is a close up, isn’t it amazing (credit goes to Tim Holtz for the technique and the stencil):

I applied my background on a black manila tag. I stamped butterflies and moths on one side (Stampers Anonymous stamp set) with archival ink and I added a black and white ribbon on the top.

Next I used Sizzix basic shape die to cut the main buddy of my butterflies (it’s two different colors (aqua and sunshine yellow) and the delicate butterfly die to cut the upper part from black card stock:

I used framelits die to cut my frame (also from black card stock) and I used Tim Holtz’s label letters to add the word “fly” to my tag.

And tadaah my faded layers tag:

Don’t forget to join the challenge and visit the blogs for inspiration!

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Cards, Illustrations, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Fly with faded layers

  1. mrsbeez says:

    Stunning. The background is superb and the black of the butterflies against it is so effective. Fabulous work.

  2. Very nice composition here, Ruth. I love the scale and positioning of elements on your tag. Faded Layers sets everything off nicely!

  3. pinkleart says:

    Awesome results.. the doily stencil is just so pretty and suits your design perfectly… Thanks for playing along with the CC3 Challenge… hope to see you again soon x

  4. Felicia Aaron says:

    Ruth, I love that background technique…so want to try that!! I love how it all pulled together…it just all worked!!! Sometimes I have to force myself to get out of my mindset of what works “together,” and this is a prime example of getting outside the box (color wise and pattern for me) and seeing awesome results!! Love it!!!

    • lerusho says:

      Felicia, I would never mix purple with orange usually, but I wanted to try something different, well now I know that it works, it even looks nice, sometimes it’s good to come out from the comfort zone and play 😉

  5. Jackie P says:

    Beautiful fading layers Ruth! xo

  6. Your technique is wonderful on the background! The butterflies are great too! Thank you so much for playing with us on this layered background challenge at CC3Challenge!!!

  7. massofhair says:

    Beautiful background technique Ruth, stunning Tag, loving everything:-) xxx

  8. candycolwell says:

    Ruth….your faded layers background using the doily stencil is amazing! I totally love your colors and the very feminine background you’ve achieved. Your stamped and die cut butterflies really are the perfect way to compliment your background. Thanks for sharing with us at CC3C. ❤ Candy

  9. marjiekemper says:

    Beautiful, Ruth! Love that gorgeous background and those layered butterflies. Thanks for joining in again at CC3C!

Leave a Reply

