Freedom

Do you remember George Michael’s Freedom, you know from the 90s? Well in Mixed media place they have a new challenge, get inspired by music, and this time I really have great memories, oops now you know I am that old. Yeah happens. Anyway I loved listening again to the number and that what came out of me:

Each time I listen to it what comes back in my head is the line: all we have to do now is take these lies and make them true somehow. I remember it was sort of an explosion and fire, something that can clean everything. So I wanted to make my own explosion on a canvas.

So how did I begin? Well I applied a thick layer of crackle paste with a palette knife on my canvas:

After it dried and I got some texture, I wanted to add some colors. I used acrylic inks and Lindy’s stamp gang sprays and water of course to mist. I added some rusted paper to it as well, why not, let’s rebel…

I can never get enough from textures, so I went further, first I used France Papillon’s french journal page and then her splattered mug stamp with archival ink. I applied some black gesso through my stencil and later made some marks with a plastic card on my canvas:

Yooh maaan I liked it, so time for an explosion… I used a self altered found object to mark the middle (it’s a real found object, have no idea what it is for, found it in the local hardware store, just rusted it). Then in my mind the explosion was to pull radius with colorized string gel medium (used metal acrylic) around my found object. I dropped some more self rusted embellishments into my string gel while it was drying.

And so I got my metal colored explosion trying to clean up my messy background. Some more details:

No real explosion happened during the process, string gel medium is a fiber medium, during the application and drying you can create string like textures by repeatedly pulling lines with a comb or plastic fork into the medium.

Hopefully you like the idea of being inspired by a certain music in your creation progress, if so why don’t you join Mixed media place’s challenge: Summer music volume 1.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Canvas, Illustrations, Mixed media, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Freedom

  1. mrsbeez says:

    Wow – stunning piece and big impact. I love it more knowing it was inspired by gorgeous George. Our paths once crossed back in the day when I was in London and he was in the early days of Wham – he was totally fabulous and I think he would be flattered, and not too grand, to know his music had inspired your heart.

  2. mrsbeez says:

    I meant art!!!!!! 🙂

    • lerusho says:

      Lisette heart and art as well. Art comes from the heart, so first it touches your heart and then comes out the creative result! So you made no mistake 🙂 By the way I was also a fan from the Wham times and I so him the first on a concert in London as well, even though I didn’t have the luck to meet him personally, just enjoy the music, but I remember it really had a great impact on me 😉

  3. Jackie P says:

    Absolutely fabulous! I got it- I remember the song and your piece goes so well! Really love how you achieved all those textures! I love texture! Yay! for texture! Love the colors too! Hugs Ruth! “)

  4. again amazing canvas. it really looks like an explosion happened on the canvas. Love the black dots and lines and the rusted nails are just awesome.

  5. massofhair says:

    I was lucky enough to meet Wham when they performed in my city, i was working as a receptionist at the hotel they were staying in so got to talk with them & got signed items too. Amazing memories of meeting them, became a huge fan that night.

    George Michael is one of the most gifted singers ever, your page is a fantastic Ruth:-) xxx

  6. I am always so inspired by your wonderful originality!!!!

  7. Annette G says:

    wow I love this fab piece Ruth. Happy PPF, Annette x

    http://nettysartadventures.blogspot.co.uk/

  8. Susan says:

    Lovely piece and I really appreciate your sharing the process. Happy PPF

  9. Debbie says:

    I love George Michaels! Your interpretation of this song is really well done. Thanks for sharing your process. I have a jar of string jell that I haven’t tried using yet. You’ve inspired me to get it out and give it a try!

  10. Beth says:

    What an extraordinary painting! This fills my eyes–which is the greatest compliment I can give.

  11. Giggles says:

    Wonderful color, texture and composition! Thanks for sharing your process!!

    Hugs Giggles

  12. Absolutely fabulous. I love the texture, color and how you applied the applications. Thank you for sharing your process.

  13. I love your exploding canvas ! How exciting and creative it is, as well as liberating which = freedom. Fabulous creation and also thanks for sharing your techniques. So glad you could play along with our challenge at Mixed Media Place this month.

  14. nanou49 says:

    a fabulous explosion that is freedom! thank you for sharing your process

  15. JKW says:

    Creative works. I like the string gel medium. I’ll have to look for that. Blessings, Janet PPF

  16. Pascale B. says:

    As always I’m totally in love with your work! beautiful interpretation of freedom.
    Thank you for joining the Mixed Media Place Challenge

  17. pbhum says:

    i’m totally in love of your interpretation of the challenge freedom!! Thank you for joining the Mixed Media Place Challenge

  18. Boy do I remember that song! What a fabulous interpretation!

  19. paperiliitin says:

    What an energetic piece! So colorful and like always, you’re the queen of texture! Thank you so much for joining the Mixed Media Place Summer Music challenge!

Leave a comment