Friendship

This post is a special one. Special because it is made out of friendship and it is about friendship. It comes a day earlier, but tomorrow I am living for vacation, don’t worry I am back hopefully very early. I have scheduled post still, but my destination is at the other side of the former iron curtain not sure when and how I can get to internet. The last time I was there four years ago and no matter how many G’s, with local supplier my devices were as good as dead. But let’s get back to the original theme and let’s talk about friendship, so here is my spread out of my heart to two special inspirational friends:

First of all my friendship spread goes to the amazing France Papillon, who celebrates her 100th edition of Journal on Monday. France, thank you for all the inspiration and the generous sharing! (Pst she designs fantastic stamps for Stampotique, you can see them here.) And second but of course not last, it goes to the fabulous Jackie P. Neal, thanks Jackie for the support and the kind words!

After all the credits, comes the exciting part: you may stay for a few more minutes and join me on my “friendship” journey, so let’s go! First I was beginning as usual with a paper collage, I have always some scraps in my drawer, you know from former gelli prints or lay-outs:

I just love making my collage pop, so I added some charcoal shadows around my pieces and blended them into one spread with gesso.

I still found the black charcoal to harsh, so I thought to add some more color with Lindy’s stamp gang spray (cafรจ au lait) and ecoline (saffron yellow), I misted my page with water and I let the colors run around.

More what I wanted, sort of a rusted feeling (for France)… I used the artistcellar stencil that I got from Jackie to add some more texture with modeling paste (xxx Jackie):

I painted my xxx’s with copper acrylic and made them pop with red chalk, the heart elements I painted with silk acrylics (carmen) and while my paint was wet added some glitter to my hearts.

Quite a metal look that I got and I liked that. On one side I added some stitches around my big heart.

On the other side I printed my text “friends bring out the best in me”, I just had to alter that print, so first I usedย France’s Splattered mug stamp with vintage photo distress ink and then I distressed the edge. I added a self rusted paperclip to my text and a coffee-colored cambric. I applied it on my spread and it asked for some more stitches so I just added them.

Hopefully you enjoyed my friendship spread, without all the inspiration and all the support from all the precious friends my art would mean nothing. Hereby I would like to say thank you for all of you, the list would be very long to mention everyone one by one but as always I am here and I will be there for YOUย as well to share and to grow and to celebrate together.

I am sharing my spread with Journal 52 prompt: friendship.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal, Gelli Arts, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Friendship

  1. Ruth, what a wonderful homage to friendship! It’s amazing how your images transformed after adding the charcoal. Really beautiful work!

  2. Ruth, you got me all emotional! What a great spread, what a great subject and what a great tribute! I feel humbled and… loved.
    Thank you so much… for everything! I so hope we will meet IRL one day!!
    xx
    france

    • lerusho says:

      France have the best week and a perfect celebration! And of course we are going to meet, it’s an hour drive and I am by you ๐Ÿ˜‰ or you jump over to the “big city” one day? xoxo ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Felicia Aaron says:

    Well Ruth, I just love what you did here in homage to friendship! So, so lovely! And of course, your tribute to France, who is such an inspiration to all! But you as well are such a creative inspiration to us out here in cyber space! Thank you for your creativity and willingness to share with us all!

    • lerusho says:

      Thanks Felicia, without all the support and all the kind words from the “cyber space” friends my art wouldn’t be the same! It is a special occasion for France and I am happy to share it with her!

  4. Jackie P says:

    Omgosh Ruth, What a wonderfully beautiful spread!! And an even more beautiful post! You have made my eyes leak all over my coffee!! heehee I feel more than special to have met you and to be able to share our art and thoughts together! Thank You!! and maybe someday, we too could meet in person-you never know- life is full of surprises! huge hugs to you my friend from across this big earth!xoxox

    • lerusho says:

      Oops Jackie, didn’t mean to water your coffee, ๐Ÿ˜‰ friendship means a lot to me, its incredible easy since we have the possibility to communicate via the net to grow and to improve our visions, to exchange techniques and ideas. I am grateful to all my friends, who help me with their vision and with their art. And why not Jackie, it’s only one flight and Europe has a charm, once you come, you won’t want to leave!

  5. la_tigress says:

    Nice Page ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. nanou49 says:

    a lovely homage to friendship! many emotions in your work!

  7. What a beautiful tribute. Love the effect on the xxx’s.

  8. Kay Wallace says:

    Both a beautiful post and a beautiful piece of art, Ruth! I love followed your step-by-step process here. Love how you have combined the cambric and stitching! Definitely a masterpiece in my book!

  9. Helen says:

    Your friendship page is just wonderful, and a great tribute to France and her fabulous JOM.

  10. Jessica says:

    A very beautiful page you did make. I love it.

  11. Stunning page Ruth, love how you added the charcoal totally transforms the shapes and adds so much depth. My favourite as always is the stitching, love what you have created in Friendship it is from your Heart.

    Enjoy your vacation ๐Ÿ™‚ xxx

  12. lerusho says:

    Thanks, xoxo ๐Ÿ˜‰

  13. rose says:

    Lovely journal spread and sweet expression of friendship!

  14. elle says:

    It really is lovely and the first step of paper collage was incorporated wonderfully!

  15. Janet says:

    Great spread! I love how you broke it down and explained each part…The Stitched Heart that looks zippered is Great! And I love the dimension of your modelling paste X’s. They stand out beautifully. Thanks for sharing.

  16. Tracy says:

    Beautiful page, Ruth. Enjoy your vacation ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. prachee says:

    love ur work….each step is a beauty !!

Leave a Reply

