Life is good

Life is good, how could it be others? It was a great weekend, warm and sunny and I felt I could enjoy a trip to the sea… circumstances changed the plans, so I took a trip to the sea in my art journal.

To create my page I used the texture paste technique (page 49) from Tim Holtz’s Compendium of Curiosities Vol. 3. First I colored my background with peeled paint and tumbled glass distress stains and melted them together to one “aqua” color.

I used archival ink (forget-me-not) to stamp my sea stars (CMS 196) and my numbered fig. (CMS 181). Then I applied transparent embossing paste to my page using Crocodile stencil from Tim Holtz. I colored it using broken china distress stain and ink. I distressed the edges.

Using the same technique just mustard seed and wild honey as colors, and sand dollar stamp (CMS 196) with dandelion archival ink I made a tag to add to my page.

The sea horse and seashell stamps are stamped with black archival ink and colored with distress markers. The sea weed is Sizzix die (garden green from Tim Holtz). The text (CMS 155) is stamped on a craft tag, cut to flag shape and distressed.

I share my journal page with Compendium of Curiosities 3 challenge 4. You may also join the great challenges at the same place. If you need some Tim Holtz supply you can visit this week’s sponsor The Funkie Junkie Boutique. Don’t forget to check out the great inspirations of the talented Curiosity Crew.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Life is good

  1. mrsbeez says:

    Another amazing background. I love the starfish showing through and the coordinating “sandy” tag (such lush colours). Hope you get another chance to visit the beach soon.

  2. Jackie N says:

    lovely page Ruth, as if you Had been at the sea! I really love these textures! “)xo

  3. Ruth…your art journal page is very nice! I love the added texture through the use of stencils and embossing paste. That wild honey embossed and stamped gold-ish tag really pops among the greens and blues of your sea scene. Thanks for sharing with us at CC3C. ❤ Candy

  4. I love this tropical feel. Anytime I’m at the beach in the warm sun I’m thinking “how can i arrange my life to do nothing but this?” Life is good. 🙂

Leave a Reply

