Present box “this side up”

If it comes to present boxes I like them personalized, and I mean I prefer to make them then to use a ready-made. I made a funky one this time.

I made a gel plate monotype print on my gelli-arts plate using self-made texture stamp (glue on foam board applied with glue gun) and quinacridone magenta and iridescent gold. The box design is an old packaging design of mine, that I made smaller this time (I needed less place, anyway it’s not the size that matters).

I liked the compact size and the wonky lines on my print. That gold accent looked amazing on the print.

I made some stamps, I used Mervynboy from Daniel Torrente and barcode and barcode text from France Papillon, it seemed too much for a little box, but like that I could choose. So Mervynboy is made with archival ink. The barcode is with distress ink and covered with clear embossing powder for some extra shine. One text is stamped with Versamark, the other with distress embossing (for more grunge look) and embossed with black Utee.

So many yummy things, now I had to make the tough decision and create a composition on my box. So I took the barcode, trimmed a piece, stitched it on a white burlap and that became the stand for Mervyn. Trying the texts I went for the grunge one, it was matching Mervyn more.

I added a red ribbon to complete my present, and tadaah:

I am sharing my present box with Stampotique Designer’s challenge: boxes.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Gelli Arts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Present box “this side up”

  1. Kay Wallace says:

    Love your unexpected box shape, Ruth! In altered sizes, this would be perfect for so many things. For some reason, I have never noticed Mervynboy, but will definitely check him out! I have to also comment on how you grounded your image! Using just a portion of France’s barcode (especially on top of burlap) is pure genius! Thanks so much for continuing to inspire us on the Stampotique Designers’ Challenge!

    • lerusho says:

      Oh Kay I love “Mervyn” he is so cute, look at his face, isn’t he adorable? I got all the inspiration from the great DT team, just one look every week and the imagination runs 😉 Thank you for the compliment, it’s a pleasure to create for the challenges.

  2. mrsbeez says:

    Another fabulous background. I want to revisit all your amazing backgrounds and have a try. Of course I love the stamp.

  3. Gez says:

    Great box. Thank you for joining the Stampotique Designers challenge. Gez

  4. *Arwen* says:

    Wonderful box, beautiful background, cute image: perfect ❤
    Thanks for joining us at Stampotique Design Challenge 🙂

    xx Arwen

  5. kaz says:

    Beautiful gift bag, I love those colours. Thanks for joining us again at Stampotique this week.

Leave a Reply

