Bountiful harvest

One of the things I love at the autumn is definitely all the beautiful and bountiful harvest baskets that are decorating the grocery store by us in the corner. (I think the owner has a real touch for it.) Over at Vintage Journey challenge #18 is Bountiful harvest. I was inspired by one of these baskets that are full with different kinds of nuts and of course by Tim Holtz’s distress techniques . So here is my take on a passe partout:

My background was made from an old book page collage with some cord and wrinkled tissue paper for texture.

As I wanted to have a peeled paint effect, so I applied randomly texture paste and I coloured it with broken china distress ink. Then I applied a second layer of texture paste randomly and I added this time faded jeans as a colour. The edges I distressed with walnut stains. Finally I misted the surface with water to get a painted effect.

I used Sizzix framelits acorn blueprints to stamp and die cut my acorn. I coloured the pieces with distress inks. I used foam tape to assemble my acorn and to create a 3D effect.

 I used layered leaves die to cut some leaves from a water-colour paper that I coloured with distress stain sprays. I embossed my leaves with distress embossing powder. I used Alphanumeric die to cut my text from stripes that were coloured with distress stain sprays. Finally I added some bards to my blueprint.

I love watching the greens turning into orange and finally to brown, it gives always that bountiful autumn feeling.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Canvas, Home deco, Mixed media, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Bountiful harvest

  1. zksmith says:

    The background texture is fantastic and I love those leaves too!

  2. windinn says:

    Lovely texture and autumn feel to this piece, Ruth. Are those real, dried leaves?

    • lerusho says:

      No, the leaves are cut with Sizzix layered leaf die, watecolour paper that is sprayed with distress stain sprays, embossed with embossing folder and with distress embossing powder and tadaah quiet realistic, isn’t it? ;-D

  3. Ruth, this is FABULOUS!! I’m seeing what looks like yummies from your your “new mail digs!” When I get my new digs in the mail, I can’t WAIT to get to the crafting table and get right to it!! I love this and would totally love to see the “shop around the corner!” Happy Bountiful Harvest my friend!! 🙂

    • lerusho says:

      Thanks Felicia, and the little grocery store would be sure pleased to get more clients on the floor, everyone drives to the big supers, they make theirs on holidays and sunday, then they offer the fresh market feeling 🙂

  4. kampysgirl says:

    Very Tim style Ruth!! Except with your piece, your signatures are here which makes this more than beautiful! xo

  5. I love this piece and the tutorial was great!

  6. thank you for sharing your background technique…love those Distress blues. I’m going to “copy” or “be inspired by” the cord technique 🙂

  7. What a nice time I am having trying to catch up with you and your abundant creativity Ruth.
    So much eye candy and inspiration.
    This piece is really wonderful with your extra special touches and layers.
    Those leaves look real and you are extra kind to take photos along the way and share your creative process with us.
    Thank you!
    oxo

  8. Susan Carol says:

    Ruth, you’re so orginal. I would never have though of adding the cord to the book pages. Another wonderful page. Love the leaves too.

  9. I saw this die yesterday, it’s just so cute. love how the leaves turned out, so real.

  10. Cindy Wirl says:

    The texture and layers in your creative process is amazing to me!

  11. massofhair says:

    Wonderful textures, amazing colours and a great focal image
    🙂 xxx

  12. S@ndy Diller says:

    Such a wonderful color combination with the fall colors and then the lovely blue. The entire piece is loaded with crafty loveliness. So happy to have you with us as we travel on this Vintage Journey.

  13. justaddwatersilly says:

    this is just adorable. I love the multimedia and textural elements. But the best thing is all the elements melding together to elevate the lowly little acorn. I do love the simpleness of acorns. Gorgeous. Visiting from AEDM.

  14. This looks really cool Ruth…I really like the lettering.

  15. Terry says:

    Love the texture you have created on the background. Beautiful Autumn piece! Thank you for joining us at A Vintage Journey.

  16. Julia Aston says:

    What a great blue background you created – your leaves and acorn look lovely against it! Thanks for joining us in the AVJ harvest challenge!

Leave a comment