Always thinking about you…

My last post was all about the importance of caring about each other, of listening to each other and of giving attention to each other. I am still in the mood, so I have an art journal page for you today:

My journaling says: I am going to warm your heart when it is cold outside… of course the meaning was that I stand by you. So many times in life you find yourself alone when you are in trouble, people, even the ones that call themselves friends love buzzing around when everything is sunny and funny, when you have what to offer to them. By the way none the less it is true about family. When the clouds are gathering around your head, and you may need some help, usually you find yourself alone. Art is what stays, good times or bad times, it is always warming my heart if I can express myself via creating something new.

To warm my heart, this time I applied first a layer of gesso, then a layer of Glimmer glaze Shaffron.Then I was beginning to cook in my witch kitchen: I used water, Glimmer glazes and High impact pigments to mix different colours. I applied each colour to another part of my spread and I was letting some isopropyl alcohol drop on it. That became my background.

While my background dried I used an old book page that I tore a heart out from app. the middle to distress with aged mahogany ink. I added a piece of canvas fringe as a scarf around my heart and I filled the heart with golden web fabric.

Now I could apply my heart to my spread. I added some burlap, altered found objects and glass glitter.

The heart that is above my scarf is still cool, it is blueish and the one under is already red and warm. Finally I added my journaling and some more scrap collage.

Β Just think about how much you feel like having someone around at hard timesΒ and please don’t forget that others would like you to be around when they have problems. A kind word, a bit of an attention can warm the coldest broken heart.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal, Mixed media, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Always thinking about you…

  1. windinn says:

    Wow, Ruth, that background had my mouth watering. I’m not sure how you could bear to cover it up, but I’m glad you did. It’s a lovely page and, of course, I’m crazy about your heart and the sentiment.

  2. Lisette says:

    A truly heart warming post Ruth. Love the heart scarf. The book page layer in between heart and background showcases both what is below and above whilst still standing out in its own right. I do hope you will consider assembling a gallery of all your pieces at the end of the year so I can feast my eyes on all your lovely work at once – now that would warm the cockles of my heart πŸ™‚

  3. there’s something “shabby chic” about this that satisfies me in a good way

  4. the background is just amazing, love how you experiment with techniques.The scarf around the heart is a wonderful detail.

  5. Tracy says:

    Definitely heart-warming, Ruth.

  6. zksmith says:

    This is beyond creative – this is genius! The background is divine and so are the elements. I love the scarf around the heart and the distressed journalling note.

  7. massofhair says:

    Another set of pages from your warm and caring Heart, love the symbology of the scarf very much:-) xxx

  8. Ruth, how is it that you manage to stay one step ahead of yourself on the CREATIVE AMAZINGNESS!!????? I absolutely LOVE this page!! Seeing this makes me just want to give you a GREAT BIG HUG!!! LOL I love hugs and this is the message it sends me! I love all that amazing color and like Zsuzsa, I think the scarf around the heart is BRILLIANT!! Such a cozy, warm piece Ruth!! Love it! Blessings πŸ™‚

  9. Susan Carol says:

    Gorgeous, lovely page. I LOVE the heart with the canvas fringe. Art helps us through so much. Am sending you hugs and support and blessings, Ruth.

  10. kampysgirl says:

    Your color play my friend is amazing!!

  11. Lizzie says:

    I love your fearless colours!
    I always want to run my fingers over your creations! Wonderful art!

  12. This is a favourite for me Ruth…love it all!! Thanks for your creativity!

  13. AnnIsikArts says:

    Yes to this: “When the clouds are gathering around your head, and you may need some help, usually you find yourself alone. Art is what stays, good times or bad times, it is always warming my heart if I can express myself via creating something new.” πŸ™‚

  14. Erika N says:

    I love your page. The heart is fantastic.

  15. Nancy B says:

    What a lovely page and lovely thoughts about you standing by people you care about and warming their hearts!

  16. createwithjoy says:

    Ruth, I spent a good bit of time on your blog this evening, reading through your posts and I just wanted to let you know what an inspiration you are to me! πŸ™‚

    Congratulations on your big news – and congratulations for being one our Featured Guests at this week’s Inspire Me Monday Party! (Week 149)

    • lerusho says:

      Thank you, I am always happy if I can inspire people with my work, and of course it’s a great honour to be a part of Inspire Me Monday party! Thank you πŸ™‚

  17. Pingback: Inspire Me Monday – Week 150 | Create With Joy

Leave a Reply

