Black, purple & pink

You know yesterday I was playing around with black gesso for my pendants, and as my craft sheet was full of it I thought I should use it. When my background for a new spread was ready in my art journal, I looked at it and I had a complete blackout, I said that’s it, this is the page that I am going to turn over. At Stampotique designers’ challenge Carol asked us to use three colours black – purple – pink. And boom that was what I was waiting for. I looked at my spread again and I saw it that’s my page. Thank you Carol!

So the famous background was first coloured with pan pastels and then black washed with black gesso.

Now this was the page, look at it, any ideas? And then I took my scraps from my table and I threw it on as a collage. I applied some shadows with charcoal.

Next I used In stitches stamp (#8118) with purple acrylics and stamped on my spread.

This purple was pretty dark, so I wanted to have some lighter colour. I mixed some texture paste with neon pink acrylics and applied it through a stencil.

My image (Janet Klein #9129) was stamped on a pan pastel coloured sheet. My image was attached on a piece of canvas that I coloured with Glimmer mist and stamped with France Papillon’s French Journal page. I added some pieces of lace with stitches and some beads.

I altered a small pastel pink tag with milled lavender distress ink and I stamped on it some words (Janet Klein #9061). I stitched around it.

I wrote my journaling inside the tag, and there I used France Papillon’s splattered mug stamp.

At the corner I added three feathers and I splattered with with ecoline (pastel purple). I used archival ink to stamp my sentiment (Maria Sabina #7304).

Would you like to add a stamp to your wish list? Here comes the list of the used stamps:

In stitches #8118

Garden block #9061

Girlfriends #9129

French Journal page #10015

Splattered mug #10017

Weather is changing #7304

So what do you think about my black purple pink spread?

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal, Mixed media, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Black, purple & pink

  1. vickilou92 says:

    WOW, Ruth. Non need could tell you were blocked unless you told us! Nice page!

    • lerusho says:

      Vicki, I just looked at that black page and I had no idea what to do, but than came Carol with here colour palette and ideas were flowing, sometimes I need a good kick in my b***,;-)

  2. rozwil says:

    I love this page Ruth – the stitch lines,the colours,the sentiment,EVERYTHING!!

  3. Patty says:

    That is such a beautiful page!!! I love it. hugs, Patty

  4. shilpa says:

    Wonderful background with pan pastels!! Love your page!!

  5. Nancy says:

    I love it.

  6. zksmith says:

    I like how you just “throw things” onto your collage! Somehow, they always seem to land on the right spot, LOL! A great looking project!

  7. kampysgirl says:

    love the background here! “) xo

  8. Kay Wallace says:

    What an awesome page, Ruth! I always love seeing your attention to detail, and this page is not exception! You have used some stamps still on my wish list! You have a big fan here! Thanks for participating in the Stampotique Designers’ Challenge again this week!

    • lerusho says:

      No way Kay, I thought you have at least a full cupboard of Stampotique beauties, how can it be… I have a wish list now with the new releases and what a list 😉

  9. Carol Fox says:

    I love this page, and thank you for entering my challenge at Stampotique this week x

  10. Thank you for a very nice creative time this morning.
    I have a cup of tea and have been catching up with you and your creativity dear Ruth !
    So much to enjoy in your posts.
    This page is wonderful and full of very fine details that invite me in…
    super colors for that challenge too!
    oxo

  11. Sue The Iron says:

    This is wonderful Ruth, your journaling tag is perfect, and this stitches stamp has just joined my ever growing with list. Sorry I’m late coming round but getting sorted after a holiday seems to be taking longer than the actual holiday lol.Thank you for playing along with us at the Stampotique challenge. Sue xx

  12. *Arwen* says:

    Amazing page Ruth!!
    Thanks for joining us at the Stampotique Designers Challenge 🙂

    xx Arwen

Leave a comment