Boo… get terrified

Are you ready? Are you in the mood? Well if not yet here is a bit of a help… Boo!

Do you still remember my little skull molds? Here they are again, but this time I used only the front half of them to create the “Boo” mixed media piece. I applied them on my canvas board with a mixture of texture pastes and gesso.

I loved the grunge, thick surface that I managed to create there. Then I wanted to have a dark, altered, metallic look, and I also wanted to play around with some technique from DecoArt. Here is the recipe: airbrush colours or fluid acrylic, isopropyl alcohol and inks gold. And the result:

You must use fluid acrylic or airbrush colour and still mix it with water if you want your layers to interact with the isopropyl. You just brush it up with a wide brush a thin layer of paint. You immediately drop some drops of isopropyl on the layer let’s say with the back of your paintbrush. I used dark colours of course for the spooky look. Now comes the difficult part, you need to wait till it air dries, watch out isopropyl is flammable! You can heat it! I applied for different layers: burnt sienna, permanent green, phthalo blue and dark violet. Then I rubbed a layer of inks gold here and there randomly. I didn’t wait for the inks gold to set, I applied another layer of dark violet airbrush colour to make sure that the inks gold is reacting with the airbrush. I published the skull with inks gold as well.

While all set I was cutting my Boo sign with Sizzix die, two layers, one from a wooden pattern canvas and one from scrap. I applied the canvas on the scrap with a bit of a slide to create a dimensional look.

Then I just assembled my composition, stretched a web fabric on a part of my piece holding it at place with self altered found objects (hardware store).

Added some thread for some more texture.

And of course my Gothic Boo sign:

Are you spookyfied?

Hopefully you are getting into the mood… I am sharing my Boo mixed media piece with Sizzix challenge Halloween.

BOO…

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Canvas, Home deco, Mixed media, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Boo… get terrified

  1. Fabulous and how I would love this for my wall. Those skulls look amazing and I love the sweep of muslin. Naturally, I need that BOO die (Sizzix AND Stampotique envy now going on!) Great piece

  2. Wow Ruth! This page is frightenly fantastic! I would love to see it for real…and feel it!
    The way you got the texture sounds awesome! Thanks for sharing your process.

  3. I meant to say frighteningly!

  4. Anita Mistry says:

    I love this the colours and textures are lush.

  5. zksmith says:

    A bit scary but so cool!

  6. kampysgirl says:

    Too creepy cool!! Does your son love this and want it for his own?! Great job Ruth , my friend!

Leave a Reply

