Pendants, dark and spooky

As we are coming closer to Halloween and going more into autumn weather (means grey days with rain) I felt like carry on the mood and create some jewellery for the dark and spooky days, may the force be with you!

Easy like baking but it’s not from polymer clay. I used grunge board, I know it doesn’t seem like but it is, if you want to know how just stay for a few minutes. I used Sizzix dies (basic shape, prize ribbon and Prima’s cogs) to cut shapes from my grunge board. First I had to cover them with black gesso (did I tell you it was a grey day yesterday, so I felt like playing with black).

Yeap, totally black, but it wasn’t enough as usual, so I melted some black UTEE (first Versamark then UTEE) on it, not one layer, not two layers but three layers.

Look at these, but no, it’s too much blink blink to my style, so I decided to add some pigments (watch out to use some that stands in heat, I used Clavè artists pigment, earth tones, love their names: rosso veneto and franz gelber ocker). I applied Versamark, then the pigments and reheated my UTEE.

It gives more vintage/grunge feeling, that’s what I love. And now came the finishing touch, to go to the dark side… boo. I used different stamps from Stampers Anonymous, I reheated my UTEE and using Tsukineko Memento Luxe wedding dress white (use ink that is permanent, archival also good) stamped with the different stamps into my pendants. When the UTEE cooled off and the ink dried I used a soft clothes to wipe the black parts back to shiny.

I felt my cogs needed some background to make them pop more. So there background is made with coloured beeswax (beeswax, damar and the same pigments rosso veneto and franz gelber ocker).

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Home deco, Mixed media, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Pendants, dark and spooky

  1. Tracy says:

    These look fabulous, Ruth. But I have to ask – what is grunge board? Is it something you have made yourself?

    • lerusho says:

      Tracy, grunge board is a sort of chipboard, but a bit more flexible and it is better to melt UTEE on it, you can buy it in art supply stores, where they have chipboard they keep grunge board as well. 😉 Thanks for asking myself I don’t think about giving explanation about things like that. And thanks for jumping over xox

  2. Patty says:

    Wow Ruth, your pieces look kinda like aged metal. I love seeing how everyone does their own thing and it’s always the wow factor. Yours really do have the wow factor going on. Love them. hugs, Patty

  3. zksmith says:

    They look great – very grungy!

  4. These are great Ruth…thanks for sharing your process xo

  5. Lizzie says:

    Hey Ruth!
    Love the charms. Are you planning to put them on chains? or buttons? or use them in mixed media projects?
    They look so touchable! 😀

  6. beautiful, especially the ones without the colored beeswax and the butterfly is my favorite.

  7. What a great idea and they look fabulous. Thanks for the tip about grungeboard too 🙂

Leave a Reply

