Beez

A tribute to my inspiring friend Lisette aka Mrs Beez, who always comes up with the best ideas for my wish list, sort of never letting it run out. She made me fall in love with bees of course, and I had to get them in different sizes. As it is the pumpkin season of the year, she made great series of pumpkins in different colours on her blog, and while we had over pumpkins today, she reminded me how tasty the honey glazed pumpkin is. So she made the pumpkins I add the honey.

I found a great sentiment as it is Sunday sentiment day over at inky-dinky-doodle, it’s an Indian one, somehow I found those so deeply connected to nature, it says: “there is no bee without the sting, cleverness consists in gathering the honey nevertheless”. There it goes, nature gives us its best, the question what are we going to do with it, or how are we going to use it? Ok, before I march to far from honey glazed pumpkins, hallo earth is calling back to honey!

As usual I found it easy to break the whiteness of my spread with a simple scrap collage. Some tags (7 dots studio) some ephemeras, a bit of a wash tape, Small bubbles cut with Memory box die.

I wanted to add a soft shining colour so I sprayed some Lindy’s stamp gang spray on it (golden sleigh bells). A half bee is no bee to be… so I stamped some tiny and medium bees (Stampotique) with archival ink (watering can). I needed some honey, really, I mean I needed to think how I can give back a texture, the colour is easier in this case. Wanted something thick, if you ever saw honey in a hive, where you can still detect the crystal form of sugar from the nectars gathered. And then I found it, I had that bottle of artists’ mortar from Pèbèo at the back of my drawer. I pulled it out, mixed it with some yellow acrylics and some fluid glaze and applied it on my spread through a honeycomb stencil.

That’s reminded me to honey! There in the corner you can see a tiny bee working hard to give us the sweet miracle of nature. Then I still splattered a bit around with acrylic ink, and there it was the honey to the pumpkin.

So don’t forget, B is for bees, P is for pumpkins and H is for honey! Now have a great week everyone, sweet as a pumpkin pie!

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal, Mixed media, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Beez

  1. zksmith says:

    So very creative, Ruth! I like how you stamped one of the bees halfway on the tag and halfway on the page. The texture of the honey is just genius! What a nice tribute to your friend! Thank you for linking up this week!

  2. I like the sentiment Ruth and your page is great!

  3. Cindy Wirl says:

    You have a wonderful imagination, Ruth. Love the texture! Mrs Beez is a lucky friend!

  4. Beth P says:

    Reblogged this on Elisabet Pollock Studio and commented:
    Don’t you just love her journal with hand torn papers – perhaps hand made paper! Hmmm certainly gives the journal an added ambiance !

  5. Anita Mistry says:

    I love this page and the sentiment I would totally have this on my wall if it was on canvas. Anita

  6. massofhair says:

    Stunning page, i thought just by looking at your picture that the honeycomb was made from wool felt and then you had then stitched over. I like the white space also and the splats.

    Love your attention to detail Ruth:-) xxx

  7. Susan Carol says:

    Awesome honey texture, it just looks like sticky honey. Love all about this.

  8. RUTH…LOVING IT! You ARE the clever one as your sentiment implies! That honeycomb makes me want it to be tea time all over again with a yummy biscuit and honey! Except…I’m watching my weight! LOL!!! But nothing against wishing! LOL Jokes aside, I love your page! Blessings! 🙂

    • lerusho says:

      Thanks Felicia, you shouldn’t be so strict to yourself, I look into the mirror, I am not the same size like I was at the age of 18 (who wants to be), but I say I am a bit more rounded and gimme some cookieeees lol! 😉

  9. Wonderful beezy weezy page you created Ruth with perfect words too!!!
    The honey comb you made has such great texture and color it almost looks like you stitched in black thread on top of fabric…
    it is one honey of a spread 🙂
    I too have a “thing” for bees.
    Happy new art week
    oxo

  10. Vicky says:

    great texture for the honey.

  11. Erika N says:

    Very interesting page. Love the texture- and the subject.

  12. kampysgirl says:

    Fabulous! And another new favorite!! xoxo

  13. Pingback: Inspire Me Monday – Week 146 | Create With Joy

Leave a Reply

