Relaxin’…

What makes you relax when you can’t craft? Let’s say a cup of coffee with your favorite newspaper or magazine? Why not? When I do that I prefer to have my time uninterrupted, no phone calls or other stuff, let the world stand still for a while.

Relax was beginning with a newspaper collage (of course what else can it be) at the background that I colorized with Lindy’s stamp gang sprays (bonjour butter and cafè au lait) and with some pan pastel (diarylide yellow shade and burnt sienna).

Oh by the way I am collecting old newspapers for collaging, I like their paper quality and somehow the lead is different, it stays on the paper even if you spray it or paint it. The “modern newspapers” can cause a black mess after a while. Back to my spread I painted some more newspapers with inka gold aquamarine and golden’s red iron oxid. While it was drying I used a paper that looked like an antique fabric to add some more collage to it. When my painted newspaper dried I cut with Sizzix trellis die a decorational frame for it. I applied the different pieces to my page and I added some charcoal shadows.

I missed some more shades or tints, so I chose aged mahogany distress ink to do that.

And then of course the most important part my stamps. My text is from Carol’s collection (Stampotique originals) was stamped on an altered paper (I used the bonjour butter spray and wild honey distress ink to alter the paper) with archival ink (jet black) and stitched together with the antique fabric paper and some coffee colored cambric.

My other stamp, Daniel Torrente’s Relaxin’ was also stamped on altered paper and stitched on cambric.

Hope you enjoyed my relaxin’… I am sharing my spread with Stampotique designer’s challenge: newspaper/magazine.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Relaxin’…

  1. Ruth, I love your relaxing pages- such warm colors! And your stamp dude,looks like he’s chilling to me!! heehee
    May I ask,what type of pencil do you use for your shading? You always have the best results!! I’m sending you a pm on Google- watch for it! xo

    • lerusho says:

      Jackie it’s no secret, my shadows and shades are coming from Koh-I-Noor Hardtmuth “Gioconda” pencils, there’s charcoal, negro, different sepias (from light to dark several tints) and chalks balck, red, white they all add to shading and shadows, some of them softer, some of them harsh, you’ll need to experiment, but I find them the best for sketching or adding shades/shadows 😉

  2. massofhair says:

    I am in love with your pages this week Ruth! They are so rich and decadent, bursting with light and makes me want to sit in there and relax while just looking at your wonderful techniques. Love the stitching and cambric. Awesome pages this challenge 🙂 xxx

  3. Kathi R says:

    I saw this on my itty bitty iPhone screen and fell in love with it. Since I haven’t figured out how to visit blogs and comment with the phone, this had to wait til I got home in front of my trusty iMac desktop to visit and see the details!

    This is soooooo fabulous. I love everything about it, but especially love the color scheme.

    Thanks for playing along with Stampotique Designers Challenges!

  4. Kay Wallace says:

    Don’t you just loving working in this journal? You do some inspiring work, Ruth! Love the warmth generated by your color palette this time around. I have “Relaxin'” and love using her. Exception work this week as always! Thanks so much for continuing to inspire us all at the Stampotique Designers’ Challenge!

  5. coco says:

    Absolutely gorgeous work, I love this too!!! Coco x

  6. Tracy says:

    Yes, let the world stand still. I’d go for hot chocolate rather than coffee, but definitely uninterrupted. Love the warm colours and the depth created by the shadows.

  7. Paula says:

    Stunning spread. I love the colours.

  8. Brilliant pages Ruth 🙂
    Have a lovely weekend and thanks for joining in with us at Stampotique 🙂

  9. Gez says:

    COOL pages :)) Thank you for joining Stampotique Desginers Challenge. Gez

  10. kaz says:

    Another lovely page Ruth. Thanks for joining us again at Stampotique.

  11. *Arwen* says:

    This is really awesome Ruth! Wonderful page.
    Thanks for joining us at Stampotique Design Challenge

    xx Arwen

Leave a comment