April showers

How is this spring time with you? Is it rainy as well? Actually march was a quiet nice month with a lot of sunshine, but april is a bit cool and rainy. So here is a card for a “shower day”.

happy april shower…

I was experimenting again. First with my stamp. I used Stampotique Originals (Topknot from Daniel Torrente). I applied several layers (8 actually) of tissue paper on my stamp with clear water, sort of a mummified my stamp. It needs to dry by air, so it takes minimum one night. That’s the way it looks like (sleep well Topknot):

mummified Topknot

After a night it’s possible to peel off the layers and get a dimensional imagine print of the stamp. After peeling I colorized my image with dylusion ink. I also prepared an umbrella.

I was making a background with dylusion ink as well, first I used calypso teal. I applied some transparent UTEE with emboss-it dabber.

I melted the utee with a heat gun and after it cooled off I applied a second layer of dylusion ink: after midnight. I whipped the above layer off from the melted utee. That’s my april shower background.

I added some distressed paper and a ribbon with sewing and with metal embellishments. I applied some shadow with black chalk around the tissue umbrella. The text happy april showers is outlined with Molotow marker.

I loved the washed look of the layered tissue paper, it seemed like it comes from an april shower.

I am sharing my card with Stampotique designers’ challenge: april showers.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Illustrations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to April showers

  1. Corrie says:

    I love your background and am intrigued by the mummified Topknot !! Great card ! Thanks for joining us at Stampotique !
    Corrie x

  2. Kay Wallace says:

    Ruth! You have managed to amaze me again! Eight layers of “TopKnot” and I can still recognize her! This is art, for sure! Thanks so much for participating in the Stampotique Designers’ Challenge again this week!!

  3. Kathi R says:

    Wow! This is very cool. I love your dimensional Top Knot and the background you created for her.

    Thanks for playing along with Stampotique Designers Challenges!

  4. How cool is the topknot and the umbrella

  5. Jackie N says:

    Ruth, I love how you mummified your stamp!Great piece all over and really love your background– so glad you share your steps with us! ty xoxo

  6. dutchstamptramp says:

    Beautiful! Love the technique you used. hanks for joining the Stampotique DC

  7. gingernonuts says:

    A lvoely dimensional piece, thank you for joining in with the sampotique challenge this week. x

  8. Kay Wallace says:

    Congrats on being a Stampotique Design Team Favorites this week, Ruth! I am not at all surprised!

  9. Love the texture you’ve created!

Leave a comment