All sewn up

Sewing, stitches are one of my favourites, I just love adding them everywhere. At Vintage journey challenge #19 is “all sewn up”. I was inspired by the altered distressed look that Tim creates and of course by his layering of found or collected ephemeras. I journaled it this time in my altered book.

Tim has such a great prints on his tissue wraps, but he still doesn’t have a stitched print, so I thought I will create my own tissue wrap, even to distress it. So first I used a simple tissue paper that I coloured with bister and some Tattered angels Glimmer mist sprays.

Then I added some sewing with my machines, simple lines sort of an abstract look. I tried to image a stencil, or how would I draw that stitch lines:

Then I glued my “all sewn up” tissue wrap on my altered book spread. And I distressed it a bit further with brushed corduroy distress ink.

Then I was beginning to layer from Tim’s ephemeras my image, I even added some “real” pieces as embellishments.

Now I had buttons, doll, thread and even safety pins, what else can I miss:

Some push buttons of course and a tag, well a smaller one of course, I altered that also with brushed corduroy distress ink, I added the big letters from the ephemera chart and the small one from label letters, I used reinforcer to make my whole stronger and I pulled a piece of lace through that I coloured with distress stain spray.

My journaling is inside my tag, but it is personal, so this time I will keep it to myself. I really enjoyed creating this spread, all the vintage distressed look in my altered book, what more can I ask for?

Hope you enjoyed this journey with me and will visit the wonderful inspirational works of the Vintage Journey blog.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal, Mixed media, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to All sewn up

  1. windinn says:

    Loving the visual complexity of this spread, and anything vintage pulls me right in! You rock, Ruth!

  2. Tracy says:

    Definitely vintage! Love all the little bits and pieces you’ve used. It’s funny, I do a lot of sewing, but I’ve never sewn in my journal and hardly ever use fabric. This looks great, though.

  3. kampysgirl says:

    This is Fabulous Ruth! I love all that stitching and the whole concept of this spread! glorious! xo

  4. massofhair says:

    Beautiful pages Ruth, lovely colours and layers. The stitching is so great really adds to the vintage feel:-) xxx

  5. Julia Aston says:

    Love your criss cross lines of sewing in the black thread with the ends left long – a lovely look on this page – wonderful colors on the background and aged edges – great sewing theme ephemera all around! Thank you for joining us in the AVJ All Sewn up challenge!

  6. Your pages are absolutely wonderful in every detail Ruth.
    Your stitched bister tissue paper is inspired…
    I really like how tissue paper melts into the surface of books.
    Ihave a thing for dress forms and sewing notions.
    Thank you for sharing your creativity and how it came to be…
    it would be fun to watch you play I’m sure (there is a saying “I would like to be a fly on the wall” to watch you work!) 🙂
    oxo

  7. Lisette says:

    Love the colours and fabrics on this one. This journal is full of so many goodies.

  8. Gorgeous altered book piece! Love the colours and elements. A real eye catcher. Karen.x

  9. SonjaK says:

    Amazing art journal page! I really love the colors and the design with all the details. I just discovered your blog and am fascinated by all the wonderful pieces of art I see here. I’ll definitely have to go and discover more!

  10. Brenda Brown says:

    This really is a wonderful piece Ruth, I love the sewing elements you have included and the wonderful collaged design.
    Thanks for linking to ‘All Sewn Up’ at A Vintage Journey.
    hugs Brenda xxx

  11. butterfly says:

    These pages are completely stunning. I’m very excited by your use of the tissue, played with and then glued over the book pages… definitely a technique to play with – thank you for the inspiration! Gorgeous colours and I love the dramatic angles of the stitching. Absolutely love this! Thanks so much for joining us on A Vintage Journey.
    Alison xx

  12. Fabulous Ruth – what a wonderful take on the All Sewn Up Challenge. There is so much inspiration in these two pages, but I particularly love the use of the tissue. Thanks for playing along with us at A Vintage Journey. Jennie x

  13. This is beautiful. The technique of tissue and thread are perfect. I will be borrowing this from you for a future project.

  14. Joolsrobertson says:

    Beautiful, love the sewing in tissue tape and the stunning colours

    A well deserved winner

    Jools x

  15. Congratulations on your win with a Vintage Journey–so well deserved!!! I love all the sewing on this page and your wonderful sewing ephemera!

Leave a Reply

