Paper lanterns for the eleventh

It is time for a new challenge by Anything but a card blog, and it is an open theme. So I am taking the opportunity to show you something from our celebrations in Flanders. On the eleventh day of the eleventh month we celebrate St Martin (Sint Marteen) that I think I can call our Thanksgiving/Halloween mixture. On that day children walk around the street Β with paper lanterns, singing songs and getting rewarded by preferably healthy sweets like nuts, or gingerbread cookies. Actually it is a celebration for the end of the agricultural year and the beginning of the enjoyment of the harvest, earth’s bounty. St Martin is known as the patroon of children and poor, as the one who supplies the needy during the hardship of winter.

So I made my paper lanterns for that night.

First I die cut my lanterns from chipboard and one I coloured silver:

and the other gold with spray inks.

I took an acetate sheet that I coloured with alcohol inks:

as a lantern has four sides so I needed to cut every sheet to 4 little windows:

I thought I am going to apply the warm orange/yellow coloured acetate windows into the silver coloured lantern. I used Stazon ink to stamp on my acetate, on one window the birds that are leaving our land for the winter and the trees that are letting their leaves fall down. They look like shadow drawings with the candle behind.

I was placing them on tissue paper so you can see the stamps. The purple/red coloured acetate I applied on the golden lantern. Here I used some stars to represent the night and some music notes for the singing.

I assembled my lanterns:

And finally I placed my candles inside:

With the little light of these lanterns I would like to remind you that as the nights are getting longer and the cold weather comes on us, the light of creating can warm our hearts! So now you have a full month to create something, Anything but a card, the theme is open and you are welcome to show us what you made. Β Our team will be here every week to inspire you with new projects!

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Paper lanterns for the eleventh

  1. kampysgirl says:

    Omgosh How cool are these! Your lanterns came out so neat!I am so happy that you have shared about your celebration and festivities- I love to learn these new things- and oh by the way, I LOOOOVE Gingerbread cookies! xoxo

  2. These are superb – I especially love what you have done with the windows and acetate. Loved learning about your Saint Martin celebration. Last year I decided to adopt St Nicholas Day after we were in Vienna at that time and I think I shall have to add this to my festivals. πŸ™‚

  3. Linda says:

    wow! I can’t believe how beautiful these are!

  4. so funny Ruth, never really heard about this tradition and I do not live that far from you. beautiful lantarns, are the lights inside real , what about fire safety with the acetate?

    • lerusho says:

      Vicky, come on, don’t you remember, I do as a kid, and I am singing the same song with my son from age 2,5:
      Ik loop hier met mijn lantaarn en mijn lantaarn met mij
      Daarboven stralen de sterren beneden stralen wij
      Mijn licht gaat aan, ik loop vooraan, rabimmel rabammel rabom
      Mijn licht gaat uit, ik ga naar huis, rabimmel rabammel rabom…
      πŸ˜‰

      • nee, ik denk dat dit iets van het Antwerpse is. Ik herinner mij dat wij eens een cadeautje gekregen hadden, maar wij wisten niet goed waarom en dar zei mijn ma dat het voor Sint maarten was. maar het is bij die ene keer gebleven.

      • lerusho says:

        Ja, da’ kan Vicky, wij zijn trots op onze tochtje, kinderen zijn al aan het beginnen met aftellen, ja meer de kleuters natuurlijk πŸ™‚

  5. heather says:

    Wonderful projects, I especially like the idea of coloring the acetate. Thank you for sharing the story behind them / your traditions.

  6. Lizzie says:

    I was wondering what would be celebrated on the 11th of November as we celebrate “Remembrance Day” on the 11th hour of the 11th day or the 11th month. We hold ceremonies across the country to remember our soldiers who parished in WW1. The 11th of November marks the end of hostilities in 1918. One of the most popular poems of that event is called “In Flanders Fields”
    I LOVE how the internet gives us access to other countries traditions!
    Beautiful lanterns, I love the symbolism and colors you chose with the little windows!

    • lerusho says:

      Beth, you are right, we celebrate it on the same way like you do 11/11 is remembrance day as well, but those celebrations are always done by day light and when the evening is coming, I guess it is nice to finish the day with candle lights and warm cookies ;-), you know this year we had already a great celebration in oct, when in 84 km of torchbearers lit a commemorating front line, it looked fascinating, and as the weather was great it worked as well πŸ™‚

  7. toni says:

    Hi Ruth…. I so enjoyed reading your post and thank you for sharing about the region you live in. I feel so blessed to be on a team from all over the world. We learn so much (other than crafting) from each other. I have to get this die, I wasn’t aware that they were large enough to put those small tea lights in. That would be perfect for assemblages etc. Thank you for the wonderful tutorial and enjoy your upcoming holiday !

  8. What a sweet feeling your lovely lanterns give Ruth…each so beautiful.
    When I was a girl in Germany I got to take part in a little march though the village we lived in and I remember how beautiful my paper lantern was made out of accordion folded paper with a happy sunshine face…Sometimes I think it might have been a dream ~β™₯~
    Happy Sint Marteen Day!
    oxo

  9. tabortooth says:

    Just Beautiful, Ruth! !! I love how the alcohol inks color plastics — great movement. The stamped images just set those cute lanterns off. Also, thank you for sharing the 11th Day Celebration customs, I just love hearing stories like this! !!

  10. zksmith says:

    It’s amazing that you can place real candles inside! They look so lovely! What a nice celebration – much nicer than Halloween!

  11. Wow, lovely and inspiring! I enjoyed seeing the steps to create the lanterns. Thank you for sharing this artwork and insight into this event!

  12. Love the lanterns. I did some last year for Christmas and everyone just loved them!

  13. Loved reading about your native traditions, I was very young when I left the Netherlands. Thank you for your memories and sharing how you make your lanterns.

  14. massofhair says:

    Contemplated getting this die but passed up the opportunity, i love love love your stylish and colourful lanterns Ruth, absolutely fabulous:-) xxx

    • lerusho says:

      Oh they are a great fun, I loved how the die works, thought it is going to be complicated, but not at all, and when you use the lanterns they are really magical!

  15. Cindy McMath says:

    I love your lanterns – what a great technique with the acetate, alcohol inks & stamping with Stayzon – that would even be great just on a card. Maybe a window card… I am working with some windows in my Sketchbook Project journal – I have been using transparencies but this woulc be a fun alternative!

  16. These are really beautiful Ruth. A lovely tradition too.

Leave a Reply

