Paint the sky

The magical space above, the sky, what do you see when you look up, the sun, the stars, some clouds, is it blue, is it grey or is it red? Every day it is different, and this is the magic in it, you just can’t get bored with. Each day that you look at the sky you can see something different. So I decided to paint for you today’s wonder, as it is sunny and it maybe one of the last ones for a while.

First I coloured my page with ecoline blue, from bottom to top.

Then I took a piece of scrap paper left over to create my hills. I used design cube texture stamp to stamp the stars and some damp at my morning sky.

I used white tissue stock to create my clouds, they are wrinkled and torn for texture. At the edges I added some glitter and some mica powder. I used soft gel to adhere my clouds.

For my rays that were breaking through the clouds I used texture paste that I painted with Glimmer glam Golden Goddess and Paprika. I stamped my paint the sky text with archival ink and then I used gel pen to add my journaling.

And some details:

ecoline

watermister

White tissuestock

archival ink

Glimmer glam Golden Goddess

Glimmer glam Paprika

soft gel

texture paste

gel pen

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal, Mixed media, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Paint the sky

  1. Fabulous page – those clouds and stars have such a magical quality.

  2. windinn says:

    Oh I LOVE the look of those hills in this piece – awesome!

  3. I love your substrate, the base alone seems interestingly textured. I too love to experiment creating texture.

  4. Lizzie says:

    I always love the look of text dancing along the hill tops. It makes me think of the town I grew up in where you could wake up to the smell of nature and the view of mountains!

    • lerusho says:

      You know it is funny, because I grew up in the city, and all my life I lived in cities, so I could never see mountains from my window, but it could be cool, every morning opening your eyes and seeing the nature, for me nature is sky and bird watching, unless I am on vacation of course 😉

  5. Susan Carol says:

    Wonderful sky, love all the different blues and the clouds. A sunny sky is always the most enjoyable one but a menacing stormy sky is really interesting too – when you are safe and dry inside and looking out 🙂 I hope you’ll create one of those too.

  6. Absolutely Love what you said about the skies dear Ruth
    AND
    the canvas you created is so beautiful.
    I never get tired of looking at the sky…
    you are so right about how quickly it changes…
    even a sunset so beautiful can be many different things.
    Happy November to you and yours.
    oxo

  7. tabortooth says:

    I love that you captured your sky. I too adore looking skyward. The difference shades of blue depending upon the season, the clouds floating by (when we have them out here in Arizona. Most days we are cloudless), just lets our imaginations breathe…

    • lerusho says:

      When have a lot of cloudy and rainy days, but when the sun shines, the sky is unbelievable clear, I love the mornings when you can still see a few stars, the morning damp and already the sun trying to break through.

  8. zksmith says:

    Ooo, it’s that lovely hand-made journal again! Love those tiny stars – I’ve been looking for a similar stamp!

  9. kampysgirl says:

    I love evry bit of this Ruth! Such a beautiful painting with wonderful textures and those clouds..something about them just draws me in! I love it my friend! xoxo

  10. massofhair says:

    I enjoy cloud watching to see the shapes, it is always important to look up…

    Wonderful page Ruth, lovely sunny skies:-) xxx

  11. This is incredibly stunning. I love all the layers. They gave this piece such depth. From the tissue clouds to the sun ray paste, this piece screams texture and careful thought. Very beautiful entry.

  12. reikosta says:

    Beautiful work of textures!! And i love what you write about the sky, it is so true!!

  13. justaddwatersilly says:

    this is such a pretty piece, I love the colors. Visiting from AEDM.

  14. Tracy says:

    I love the colors & textures. Plus getting a peek behind the scenes how you put it all together – ❤ it! Popping in from AEDM

  15. Tracy says:

    Beautifully captured, Ruth.

  16. iHanna says:

    Paint the sky – yes, let’s! Nice work. 🙂

  17. Danielle says:

    Love this page!

    What is your journal made from? Is it handmade papers?
    http://missdaniellerenee.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

