Butterfly kisses or nature’s beautiful living beings

I think nature’s most beautiful living creatures are butterflies, of course it’s according to me only. I just love them, as a little girl I loved to think that butterflies are flying fairies, sort of a magical beings. So at Art journal journey monthly challenge is about living beings, I made my spread about my favorite:

And as usual I am ready to share my process with you so if you feel like just stay for a few minutes… first I throw some scrap on my spread, this time I worked on Prima marketing paper (Time traveller).

There we go, this time onion net (did you pay attention in your grocery store, it’s a treasure cellar for nets) applied with soft gel and a thin layer of gesso. Then I highlighted some parts with charcoal shadow. And when I did so I realized that my collage is asking for some stitches, so I added them straight away.

Okey, that was the moment when I wanted to have some colors, I used Lindy’s stamp gang sprays (bells of Ireland green, bachelor button blue and autumn maple crimson). Note: if you use the spray head to splatter with your splatters are going to be more drops, so if you want softer and smaller splatters use a small headed brush! While I was drying with my heat gun I misted it here and there with water.

Next I used Tim Holtz’s butterfly stamps with archival ink to create a but more texture with butterflies. But of course it wasn’t enough for me. I mixed some soft gel with glitter and applied it on my spread through Finnabair’s elementals butterfly stencil. Plus I added my ephemera’s, 7 dots studio.

Let me show you how a glitter soft gel mix butterfly looks like from close:

Next I colored my spread with Lindy’s stamp gang yellow rose of Texas and wild honeysuckle coral. While it was drying I made my big butterfly. I used Tim Holtz’s layered butterfly die, I used a gelli printed paper for my butterfly. I added some more shades with distress ink.

It seemed like a butterfly was kissing my spread. And here are some more details from my spread.

So why dont you jump over to Art journal journey and check out all the wonderful living beings.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal, Gelli Arts, Mixed media, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Butterfly kisses or nature’s beautiful living beings

  1. zksmith says:

    Love this to bits! Yummy layers and textures. Your step-by-step instructions are very useful!

  2. massofhair says:

    Another WOW from me Ruth, fantastic layering and textures, the colours are amazing and all the little added words just pop off the page. Glad you added the stitching:-) xxx

  3. JackieP Neal says:

    I too have always loved butterflies and funny that I never thought of them as fairies, but I shall from now on”) Lovely spread my friend xoxo

  4. This is just GORGEOUS Ruth! WOW.. I also love butterflies, dragonflies and all kinds of birds so much…. An amazing entry for Art JOURNAL Journey, Living Beings! Thanks a lot for being with us!
    xxx
    Susi

  5. Valerie-Jael says:

    Wonderful journal page, butterflies are always very special. Thanks for joining us at AJJ, Valerie

  6. just fantastic ruth, the whole page. The large butterfly die is so neat, too bad TH dies don’t fit in my machine 😦
    and the idea of using an onion net, sublime.

    • lerusho says:

      Thanks Vicky, you can use a lot of different type of nets, (oranges are also coming in nets 🙂 ). I thought TH dies are compatible with nearly all the machines, that must be a tiny one then… 😦

  7. Your lovely pages are a beautiful homage to butterflies Ruth…
    they are indeed most magical creatures!
    oxo

  8. twinkletoes2day says:

    This is a luscious page so full of colour texture and dimension. Very impressive 😀

  9. Patty says:

    Breathtaking!!!! I am so in strong like (Love, actually) with the big beautiful butterfly!!! This is a piece I would hang on my living room wall. hugs, Patty

  10. mrsbeez says:

    As you know, I share your love of butterflies so this page is perfect. However, your Special Delivery label resonates particularly. I also know for sure that I need the butterfly to go with the bee which in turn means I will also need the dragonfly to complete the set!!! 🙂

    • lerusho says:

      Lisette, I was hesitating with my “special delivery” label, I thought somehow that it takes too much focal attention with it’s hard color, then I said why not to try, I wasn’t satisfied 100% but yeah I experiment all the time. So it stayed. And about the dies, of course the set is a must, I have the bee (since I met you I am in love with bees), the butterfly and the dragonfly they look great together, now I miss the leaf, have you already seen it? It’s on my wish list, but my supplier doesn’t have it yet, so I need to wait a bit. 😉

  11. Susan Carol says:

    Wonderful butterfly. I agree with you, Ruth, they really are the most beautiful living creatures. Love the netting too and all the detail.

  12. Margik says:

    Those pages are totally wonderful with amazing textures. Fantastic as always!

Leave a comment