Five

Use Five! Use number 5, or five items, five colors or five words… interesting challenge over at Anything but a card, that moved my fantasy and made me create this art journal page:

So I have number 5 several times, I have five items and I have even five numbers… let’s begin. I used a self rusted tissue wrap to begin with.

Next I used number stencil with distress ink (aged mahogany and forest moss) to create a numerical background and I highlighted my “five”s with gel pen.

Then I had these cute little craft tags, I took five of them, colorized them with distress ink and stamped on them 5 with archival ink.

I stitched them on one side of my spread and on the other side I added my text about five the number. I dropped some shadows with charcoal pencil and I also added another five items: five self rusted paperclips.

As I felt I still miss some details I added the numbers from one to five with modeling paste colored with naples yellow.

And on the top of the other side as well, I even made them pop with outlining them with black gel pen.

Finally I added smaller number at the lower part.

Hope you “gimme a high five” after my Use Five take. And don’t forget to head over to Anything but a card site to see great projects around five.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Five

  1. mrsbeez says:

    Definitely a high five for this. As always, a stunning background. I especially love the pasted numbers, especially on the tags. So thrilled that you created and shared with us all over at Anything But A Card this week.

  2. wandahentges says:

    It’s wonderful!!! Definite High 5!!!!

  3. massofhair says:

    5 is my special number so i love what you have created here Ruth. You get 5 high fives, 5 smiles and stars for your superb pages:-) x

  4. zksmith says:

    Yet another great project! Love it! What exactly is self-rusted tissue wrap?

    • lerusho says:

      It means I was rusting it šŸ˜‰ all you need a rusty metal piece, I use natural rain (letting it stand outside, but you can make it wet in many ways) and let the tissue wrap dry on top of the rusty metal. When it’s dry carefully peal down the tissue from the metal and tadaah ready to go šŸ™‚

  5. zksmith says:

    That is so cool! I didn’t realise you could transfer rust to paper like this. In the meanwhile, I’ve found the answer to my question on your Google+ post, but thanks for replying here too!

  6. Amazing! I love the rust and how you made the numbers stand out with the outlining! Thanks for playing with us at Anything But A Card! Did you notice we are having a DT call?? Perhaps you’d consider applying ~ Christi ABAC DT

  7. Julie Short says:

    Rusty Paper —love it! Your journal page is way cool. Thanks for joining our 5 Challenge at ABAC. I ‘m glad you have put an application in too!

  8. Tracy says:

    Love the colours you’ve used, Ruth. Those tags look great!

  9. Ruth – I’m in love with your art journal pages exploring the number “FIVE”. The tags are a wonderful contrast to all the yummy texture and layers. Thanks so much for applying to the Anything But a Card Challenges DT… GOOD LUCK šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

