Celestial altered light catcher

Celestial – something magical, something shining, something that breaks the darkness, still something fragile. The magical holidays are closing on us, so it is time to bring some warmness into our world. At Anything but a card challenge blog Challenge #42 is Celestial. Here is my DT take on it a altered Celestial light catcher for the coming holidays:

Well it was all beginning with a simple bottle-lantern combo, well the metal pieces are ready ones for any lantern, the old bottle is a vintage founding in a local antique store. First I cleaned the bottle with some alcohol, actually it looked first pretty old, but after cleaning I got all that shining glass back. Then I used some transparent film to cut out a few stars a sticked them on my glass surface (good thing: it never really sticks good, so you can easily remove it later). After that I painted my whole bottle with gesso. When it dried I added some layers of acrylic inks all pearlescent colours, letting them drop down the side of the glass like sort of candle drops.

Here the transparent film stars are still there, but the next step was to remove them. They tend to come down pretty easy, need to watch out not to pull down paint from the edge. Then all what is necessary is to wipe the clean glass stars with a wet tissue to make them shine again.

Some decorations are home made, some are ready embellishments, that I dipped thoroughly into black, red, golden and bordeaux paint and glitter. First I decorated the neck part and then the top. The choice is randomly made, no specific order.

And the early evening hours were bringing the light:

And in complet darkness it was bright:

Hope you enjoyed my celestial light catcher, please visit the Anything but a card challenge blog and check on my fellow DT members great creation. Even better come and join our challenge!

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Home deco, Mixed media, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Celestial altered light catcher

  1. kampysgirl says:

    Coo l techniques Ruth! Thanks so much for sharing! xo

  2. windinn says:

    I so much love your creativity and willingness to step out of the box, Ruth. This is lovely!

  3. zksmith says:

    What a great way of breathing new life into an old bottle! Looks stunning and magical!

  4. love the stars and how the light comes through them. And the paint dripping down really looks like from candles.

Leave a comment