Found Poetry

Found poetry is using a text where you choose certain words out to create your own “poetry”. I chose a page from my favorite book Gabriel Garcia Marquez: Love in the time of cholera.

The words were popping to my eyes from the text, I didn’t really need to look for any special meaning. As they popped I added some illustrations and finally I blacked out the rest of the text.

Close up to text

It says: “in honor of the ladies flowerpots, a bird of paradise accomplished what they wanted”… so that’s my poetry.

illustration

And my illustration: bird of paradise and some flowers painted with acrylics. Finally I added some stitches.

I am attaching my journal page to Journal 52.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Found Poetry

  1. Jackie says:

    I like it! So cool how you picked out the words and added the painting afterward! Perfect! love the stitching too!

  2. Beautiful and unique!!

    Smiles, Saskia 🙂

  3. Nancy B says:

    Love this idea and your pretty painting looks like folk art.

  4. ann krier says:

    Fun look – very simple works on black are amazing. great way to play with an old book. Happy PPF.

  5. j.ajabad says:

    Beautiful page! I think your technique can be considered blackout poetry! 😀

  6. Love your colorful page – the colors show up so well on the black page. Perfect words for a poem!

  7. Marit says:

    Thanks for submitting your found poetry page to the Found Poetry Friday list – I LOVE this way of ‘finding poems’ – using a page from a book and highlighting certain words to say something new… it’s not the easiest way to ‘find a poem’ but it is so rewarding! Your poem is great, and so is your art journal page!!!

  8. This bird is awesome!!! Very nice

  9. Annabelle says:

    Interesting piece.I never heard of “Blackout Poetry” but it’s intriguing and you have done a very lovely work with this technique.Adore the brilliant colours.

    Annabelle : )

  10. Carla says:

    Great found poem, love the black with the bright colors.

  11. Pingback: Mindfulness of Life – Poetry of the Day 25MAR 2014 | Marc Gilbert-Widmann

Leave a comment