Tropical love

Love in the time of cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez, that’s my favorite book. This week challenge on Stampotique designers challenge is hostedย by France Papillon and she asks us to use our favorite book as inspiration. So that’s my spread inspired by the book.

First I collaged a book page on my spread, simple isn’t it?

Then I colored my page with Lindy’s stamp gang sprays to blueish, and why blue? Well if you read the book you know it plays in a tropical environment, and in a city that is somewhere close to the sea. I added some stitches as well. To symbolize the time that passed by in the story I used a clockwork stencil with distress ink.

As the story is about a romance of course and love, I had to add some romantic element, maybe even some flower. So I added some dolly and a poppy paper collage on my spread. And of course some more stitches just to muse myself.

I felt that I need to make my new elements jump so I added some shadows with charcoal. On the dolly side I stamped France Papillon’s My heart, actually first I stamped the bottom on my dolly and then I colorized a tissue paper with Lindy’s stamp gang flat shot, wrinkled it and finally stamped the heart. On the left over of the paper I added some smaller heart from my hearts cubed.

First I thought I am going to stamp the whole title with the Alphabitties, but oops I was running out of space so I stamped the first word and the rest I was trying to write in the same style with simple black marker.

That’s my favorite book, hope you liked my interpretation. I am sharing my spread with Stampotique designers challenge #156.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Tropical love

  1. massofhair says:

    I do like/love your journal pages inspired by your favourite book. One of the things i appreciate about your pages is the attention to detail, so many little embellishments make your journal a delight:-) xxx

  2. Hoi Ruth! Niet alleen is dit een fantastische journal spread met leuke accenten, ik ontdek ook nog een nieuw boek om te lezen. Dank je wel voor beiden!!
    liefs,
    france

    • lerusho says:

      Bedankt France ๐Ÿ™‚ als jij verhalen uit Zuid-Amerika en van hun cultuur houdt, wil jij ook van Gabrial Garcia Marquez genieten, het is altijd vol met gevoelens, zo genoemd magische realisme. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. mrsbeez says:

    Love how you have used the book page here – so many possibilities. The stencil looks fabulous but my favourite is that blue with those hearts – stunning.

  4. Ruth, another favorite here- Great use of your stitches and clock, even though I have not read the book, I gain a sense of it from reading how your page came together. Glad that you ran out of space because I think your lettering is perfect as it is! Well done my friend! xo
    ps, what type of paper do you work on first before it goes into your journal? and what do you use to adhere it? I love your journal!

    • lerusho says:

      The paper is always heavy mixed media because I use so many texture and work usually pretty messy so it would simple melt if I use the regular paper, I didn’t really find that quality in ready journal so I take apart pages (well I had once but that one was falling apart in the middle, so better paper quality but worth binding), back to paper any company whatever in stock by my art supplier around 140 lb. Adhering most of the time golden gel medium regular, or other gel medium regular (heavy gels can create an additional layer or if it’s not spread equally you’ll get bumps here and there, soft gel was once falling out for me, oh and I use wide brush to apply, so 2 strokes and ready to stick). Hope it helps and thanks for the kind words Jackie xoxo ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. kaz says:

    This is another fab journal spread Ruth, love the colours. Thanks for joining us again at Stampotique this week.

  6. Loving all the layers and rich colours Ruth ๐Ÿ™‚
    thanks for joining in with us at Stampotique ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Kay Wallace says:

    You have added so much supportive detail here, Ruth, that you have encouraged me to actually read this book! Love how you have created your layers and allowed them to be part of the foreground (and not disappear into the background). Well done. Thanks, again, for inspiring us all on the Stampotique Designers’ Challenge this week!

  8. Kay Wallace says:

    Congratulations on having your work honored this week as a Stamptotique Design Team favorite!

  9. massofhair says:

    Congrats on making the top three in the Stampotique challenge from last week, well deserved ๐Ÿ™‚ xxx

Leave a Reply

