Body, mind, health

Can we consider physical health the only necessity that a human needs? I doubt it. I think that to be able to function on daily basis, we need emotional health and well being as much as physical conditions. Actually we need to unify physiological, psychological and spiritual sides and promote them equally. So here is a note about that in my art journal:

This spread was beginning with a simple stamping I used France’s romantic text stamp from Stampotique.

Than I added some colours, light blue ecoline and turquoise pan pastel, and jay blue chalk edger.

Next I used some gelli prints to cut some whimsical bottles containing some aromatic oil. One side I added corks like closed, I actually cut shapes from cork sheet. On the other side I added some bar sticks into the bottle like the scented burners.

Finally I dropped some shadows to make my bottles dimensional.

And I stamped my text: “harmonize body, mind and health” with archival ink.

It was so relaxing to create that spread like having an aroma therapy. So I am linking my spread up to Journal 52 prompt: aroma therapy.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal, Gelli Arts, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Body, mind, health

  1. Lisette says:

    Love those whimsical bottles and the background you have created. And you are (of course!) absolutely right about emotional health – sadly often missing in pupils when I was teaching so you had to get that right before the learning could happen.

  2. windinn says:

    I can feel the relaxation already, Ruth – lovely spread.

  3. Very nice Ruth, you speek volumes when posing the question to be healthy not only physically, but mentally as well. & What better way to express our emotions than with art. As the quote goes, Art washes away from the soul, the dust of every day life.

  4. Kay Wallace says:

    Totally brilliant use of gelli prints, Ruth! Stunning art!

  5. I think you did an excellent job with this prompt. I am not sure mine was as insightful as yours. This is stunning, right down to the gorgeous bottles!

  6. Love everythng: the romantic text stamp, the subtle blue colors, the whimsical bottles with shadow and corks and the scented sticks. And you’re so wright, everything should be in equilibrum.

  7. zksmith says:

    Great page Ruth – very representative of your message.

  8. kampysgirl says:

    What a great concept and I love those bottles! Way to go using those gelli prints!! xoxo

  9. Shel C says:

    Love you page Ruth 🙂 The colors and patterns are soothing and they really bring to mind relaxing in a lovely scented spa room.

  10. Christine says:

    I like your page very much: the message and the artwork!

  11. ah yes
    harmony and balance
    illustrated beautifully on your lovely pages Ruth!
    oxo

  12. Susan Carol says:

    Love your spread, especially the gorgeous bottles. Its so true, we are spirit, soul and body and need to look after all three.

  13. Sally says:

    Wonderful journal page, great to see your working process. The bottles are great!

  14. Lizzie says:

    Great dimension on your bottles! This has a lot of open space on it which is something I love to see but struggle to create.
    As always I love your work!

Leave a Reply

