Painted journal cover

Here we go, my journal cover is dry, finally I could put the rings back, tadaah:

I used corrugated cartoon as the covers and first I applied a layer of white gesso, and some texture paste via a stencil.

As usual I looked around my table and took a piece of burlap, some lace left overs. Then I had that paint brush on my table, old and a bit broken. Some buttons, a bottle cup, a bobbin for sewing machine. And the word “art”. I applied all that with some soft gel. Then I added a second layer of gesso, this time with black.

When it dried, as  it was sealed with a double layer of gesso, I could freely play around with   liquid acrylics, I used pearlescents (galactic blue and platinum pink). Finally it got a layer of inks gold (aquamarine and rose quartz).

And here are some more details for you:

So now I have a personalised art journal cover to my new journal.

I am sharing my cover with Paper Artsy’s challenge #3: paint.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal, Mixed media, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Painted journal cover

  1. Ruth I am ABSOLUTELY in love with this Cover. I am glad to see that you used cardboard. What a great way to recycle.. as usual your art work is amazing. 😉

    • lerusho says:

      Thanks Fran, well actually I have now quiet a big box to recycle, as my own burnt out last week and I had to replace it, they come in a great quality of a box, don’t really know what I am happier with new own or corrugated cartoon, lol I am a typical artist, by the way I need to try to bake some clay in that new own 😉

  2. Martha Menningen says:

    Yo am new to mixed media……your covers are beautiful. So creative. Thank you for showing them!

  3. Shel C says:

    Love all your dimension with the added stuff laying around the desk. I really like the paintbrush dividing the areas. Very cool!

  4. Gorgeous! Love how it all looks after the gesso and spraying. Wonderful idea!

  5. zksmith says:

    Love the lacey textures and the burlap and the addition of the brush is a stroke of genius!

  6. Hazel Agnew says:

    Fab textures, loving the lace!

  7. Susan Carol says:

    Ruth, this is STUNNING!! All those different textures, just love the burlap and lace effect. I’d never thought of using corrugated card for covers, what a good idea. You are such an inspiration and I’ve learnt so much about texture from you.

  8. windinn says:

    Oh, this is just stunning, Ruth – love the colours, texture, and that glorious sheen!

  9. you have given me some inspiration today

  10. kampysgirl says:

    You know how I feel about texture- and this cover screams yummy to me!! Love your colors also! xo

  11. Kay Wallace says:

    This is so much better than any cover you could have purchased, Ruth! It may have been spawned of humble beginnings, but your have a masterpiece here! I love it!

  12. Vicky says:

    wonderful, and no doubt the inside pages will become wonderful too.

  13. Beautiful textures, and looks like great fun to make too!! Thanks for joining in the challenge. Live seeing what you do!

  14. Kezzy says:

    Wow wow wow so loving those textures, truly awesome. Happy Art 🙂 Kezzy xxx

Leave a Reply

