Lemon, orange and lime

I hate the flu, it is the most unpleasant sickness, and no matter of medications or no medications at least 10 days. So I’ve got it. I was happy to see the new challenge at Stampotique designers’ challenge blog with citrus colours, it is just for me now. So here is my creation:

I worked in my altered book, first I applied some white gesso via a stencil, then I used Tattered Angels Glimmer mists (Sun sister, Marmalade) to colour it.

I splattered with lime acrylic ink, then I used distress ink with France Papillon’s splattered mug (#10017). I distressed the edges as well.

Here is a close-up:

I used a tissue paper while I dried my spread, so I had some coloured tissue. I stamped on it Large butterfly (#3047), I trimmed it and I applied it on my spread with gel medium.

I loved that texture. My lime acrylic ink drop and I cleaned it with a cotton pad, so I thought I am going to colour the rest of the cotton pad to orange. I thought that “magical moment” is the right expression here, so I used barcode text 2 (#10025). I stamped it with distress ink on a natural linen paper and then I added a altered found object and finally I applied it on my spread.

I feel a lot better already from all that citrus colours. Why don’t you jump over to Stampotique designers’ challenge blog to check out the great creations there?

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal, Mixed media, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Lemon, orange and lime

  1. windinn says:

    Loving these colours together, and how perfectly appropriate to be showcasing citrus as you recover from that bug!

  2. vickiross says:

    So sorry you are pukey, Ruth! Try to rest and you will feel better soon. This is a yummy spread!

  3. Happy to see that your being sick does not limit your creativity, but inspires it. The Florida gal in me loves this citrus palette

  4. Kay Wallace says:

    This is absolutely gorgeous, Ruth. And, of course, I love your “citrus” color palette. Hope you are soon back to healthy!

  5. patty says:

    Sure hope you are better soon. I see you realized that the vitamin c in the citrus was already making you feel better. ggg Your art pages are just beautiful! I love the colors. Get better real soon. hugs, patty

  6. Gez says:

    Totally GORGEOUS.
    Get Well Soon.
    Thank you for joining Stampotique Designers Challenge. Gez

  7. Lisette says:

    Sorry you are not well and hope you’re soon on the mend. This dose of citrus should give you a good boost of vitamin C πŸ™‚ Love how this looks as if it is the book itself rather than the book just being the background to it all (if that makes sense?)

    • lerusho says:

      Lisette, right know with my stuck nose nearly nothing makes sense, but yes, good that no one can see my big red nose, I look like Rudolf, does this make sense? πŸ˜‰

  8. Boo on the flu…sure hope you are feeling much much better very soon dear Ruth!
    Your gorgeous colorful pages would brighten anyone’s day.
    Take care…
    oxo

  9. I just adore all of you work Ruth, the butterfly is gorgeousness, sorry that you are yucky, I have silently locked myself up in my office at work flu running a muck.feel better soon my friend.

    • lerusho says:

      Thanks Fran, it might work in an office, but I have a kiddo, brings it home from school, mum takes care of him, and his red nose, result: mum gets flu as well, like one plus one is two, lol πŸ˜‰

  10. Wishing you well. Love the fact you can see the text underneath from the book and that butterflie is off course very beautiful.

  11. zksmith says:

    Love what you did with this page, Ruth! Hope you get better soon!

  12. Sue says:

    This is gorgeous Ruth, the pages look so delicate, and the sentiment is perfect. I hope you’re feeling better now. Thank you so much for joining in with my challenge at Stampotique. Sue xx

  13. kampysgirl says:

    Oh dear! Ruth! Lots and lots of liquids and rest!! So sorry to hear you have that durn flu! Please take care of yourself and try and keep your spirits up- sending lots of love and well wishes! xoxo
    OH! Btw- your journal spread is GorGeous!!

  14. Astrid says:

    Gorgeous spread in your book!! Thanks for joining us at Stampotique. Hope you are feeling better soon. XOXO

  15. kaz says:

    Another lovely page in your book. Feel better soon. Thanks for joining us again at Stampotique this week.

  16. Claudine C. says:

    This is a beautiful page, love the splatters and words in the background. Thanks for joining us over at Stampotique’s Challenge

  17. Pam says:

    I love how you create your backgrounds! This is another wonderful one and I absolutely love the butterfly! Hope you are feeling better πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

