The world under the sea

It is time for Stampotique, isn’t it? Are you ready to dive under the sea with me? Corrie at Stampotique designer’s challenge asked us to use a painted background. So I painted a spread in my altered book:

I just love journaling with Stampotique, it is so much fun! I used acrylics on my spread, the background is turquoise and the hexagon stencil is steel-metallic blue, the edge is distressed with the same steel-metallic. It asked some white so I used Dot swirl (#2078) with wedding dress ink pad.

Then I stamped Smushasha (#6121) with archival ink on linen paper. I added on one side with some shadows. I coloured her hair blond, I gave her a red bow.

France’s Comfortzone (#10021) was stamped with archival ink as well. I used cambric, scrap die cut and thread underneath. I added some altered found objects as well.

So what do you think it looks like under the sea?

I am sharing my spread with Stampotique designers challenge painted background.

I am sharing with Coby’s challenge by de Craftorij – use stencil.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal, Mixed media, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to The world under the sea

  1. kampysgirl says:

    Gorgeous spread Ruth!!! Add this to my list of favs!! That rusty safety pin around that word is perfect!! I get the point! (pun here-teehee) Absolutely love everything about this spread! xo

  2. windinn says:

    I’m very much liking the gold/bronze/rust additions to the cool blue – fabulous combination!

  3. zksmith says:

    You’ve created a cool fantasy world, Ruth! I love the clustering of the thread, diecuts and found objects under the title.

  4. Kay Wallace says:

    It appears to me that you had fun with this challenge, Ruth, and it payed off! Love your sea world–and Mushasha’s new look!!

  5. Lisette says:

    That rusty safety pin is a great embellishment idea. I love the colours and patterns in the background, so full of movement, and the threads accentuate the undersea feel.

  6. Γ–zge B. says:

    That turquoise really brings the page under the sea. I do not know if it is because of the stamps but your pages always tell me a story. I guess this is your talent to weave a narrative.

  7. Your work is so original and inspirational, it’s always a treat to visit your blog Ruth πŸ™‚ x

  8. Susan Carol says:

    Lovely pages Ruth, really effective and great words!

  9. Tracy says:

    Oh, that comfort zone! Yes, it is definitely much too small. Thank you for giving me a push to get out of it πŸ™‚

  10. Corrie says:

    Great journal spread ! Love the gold with the turquoise ! Thanks for joining us over at Stampotique this week !
    Corrie x

  11. kaz says:

    Loving all the details on your journal spread Ruth. Thanks for joining us again at Stampotique this week.

  12. *Arwen* says:

    Wonderful page Ruth! Love all the Details ❀
    Thanks for joining us at the Stampotique Designers Challenge πŸ™‚

    xx Arwen

  13. Vicky says:

    Love that distressed safety pin

Leave a Reply

