Bloom where you’re planted

Isn’t that magical to imagine that you are a flower and you supposed to bloom? If you were a flower, which one would you like to be? One planted in a pot, meant to be kept indoors? A wild one growing free in the nature? Or a waterlily sort with roots under the water? I guess I am a water lover, so would go for the waterlily definitely. With such a thoughts I created this card using Canvas Corp Brands and Tattered Angels products.

The background of my card is linen paper. I coloured plaster clothes with glimmer mist (coffee shop). I stitched my plaster clothes onto my card.

Then I used the round swirls background stamp from Canvas Home Basic cling Grateful stamp with Versamark on natural linen paper. I embossed with clear embossing powder. I coloured it with glimmer mist (sapphire) and finally I ironed the embossing powder out. I got the natural look of the linen paper back under the swirls.

Next I just tore that background up, I applied the pieces on my card with plaster clothes and stitched it back together with some embroidery thread.

On the Grateful stamp set there is a nice sentiment: “bloom where you’re planted”, I stamped it on linen paper using archival ink and distress the edge with the same colour.

And guess what else there is on that stamp set, some tiny little hearts, so I used again archival ink and I trimmed them.

I applied my text and my tiny hearts randomly on my card.

And a close-up:

I am sharing my card with Craft Stamper’s january Take it make it challenge: “take a stamp”.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Cards, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Bloom where you’re planted

  1. enigmaticpixie says:

    Great project Ruth.

  2. Kay Wallace says:

    Love your project, Ruth! You have used unique elements here which definitely make this one of a kind! Good luck in the TIMI challenge this month!

  3. windinn says:

    Loving that combination of warm and cool colours – just wonderful!

  4. zksmith says:

    How cool is that! The way your ripped the paper and then stitched it up! Love that swirly pattern and the cloth background. They work really well together!

  5. Lisette says:

    Fabulous. Love the swirly stamp and the tearing and stitching of it is a brilliant touch. The tiny hearts are a perfect addition. When I was younger I longed to be called Tiger-Lily so I guess I’ll choose that as my “to be” flower! I’ve pre-ordered the Art Journal Kickstarters book – very excited!

  6. Well, in classic Ruth style you managed to come up with another VERY creative card! Love, love it Ruth! I also love how you tore that paper and then stitched it back together! So cool! I love the contrast between the textures of the paper and the fabric and then pulled together with the thread! Nice all the way around! I really like your sentiment too! I TOTALLY agree, yes indeed, BLOOM wherever you are! It doesn’t matter! There is a bright side to all things and a way for us to see the goodness out of a sticky situation and then reflect that positive energy to others! Love it! 🙂 Thanks for sharing this goodness and make it a FABULOUS weekend! 🙂

  7. vickiross says:

    Great design, Ruth!

  8. wonderful combination of techniques. The recipient of this card will know the thought poured into it. I might be tempted to copy the sentiment.

  9. kampysgirl says:

    I am so digging the stitching Ruth! And I love that circle background stamp-very cool! xo

  10. 3renee says:

    Very creative card, love the stitching! Thanks for joining us at the Take It Make It Challenge.

  11. Becky says:

    Such a lovely, you need, card! It has that garden feel :-)!

  12. Vicky says:

    love the red stitching, very striking

  13. kampysgirl says:

    This is a wonderful piece ! I love the red stitching as well and how you did it so creatively!Xo

Leave a Reply

