What’s up?

What do you need for a good conversation? Let’s see, some coffee or tea, one who has what to say, maybe another who has what to ask, definitely some who want to listen. That’s what came up in my mind visually about a conversation:

I wanted to work with circles, and why… well I have a blogging friend Tracy, who is also an art journaler, and she works so much with circles, actually I adore the way she slice them, repeats them, somehow they sit always at the right place on her spreads. So my eyes jumped on my coffee pads, they are round, so I dried them and I used them as the first layer of my collage with some canvas pieces and scrap leftovers.

Next I dropped some shadows with red chalk. I added some stamping with Marion Smith texture stamp and archival ink. Finally I applied a layer of texture paste with Kasia’s tcw stencil.

Now some colours, yes… so I misted my spread with water then splattered some bistre and some ecoline (lemon yellow) and misted some more.

I had that vintage image with a woman on the phone, so I trimmed it. I added some shadow with charcoal. At the bottom I applied a lace and at the side my canvas fringe rosette, you can find it here how to make it.

And as you can see it, I added a simple masking tape and used gel pen to write my question: what’s up? Would you like to see some close-ups? So here we go:

I share my spread with Journal 52 prompt: conversation starter.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal, Mixed media, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to What’s up?

  1. vickiross says:

    Ruth, are the coffee rounds from the single cup maker? I have one but it won’t lay flat. Haven’t tried resetting it. Great spread…love the strikes of red!

    • lerusho says:

      Vicki, I have a sense machine, which I really enjoy and love, I use Douwe Egberts senseo pads in it. After drinking may morning coffee I just opened them carefully, tried to pour the most of the coffee out, then I was waiting till they dried. Then of course there was more coffee powder getting free, as I guess when it is wet it sucks. So nothing special, when it air dries it is flat, and the page smells great by the way 🙂

  2. Lorrie says:

    Love the color combinations! Just wonderful!

  3. dannylion says:

    Just love this! Thank you for sharing!!!!

  4. I was very impressed with your take on this week’s prompt. You touched on all aspects of a conversation, and your focal image made me smile. I was also impressed with the coffee pads. Circles are always fun. Great way to recycle, too.

  5. Christine says:

    Great, so many different materials and techniques in your work, and the color keeps everything together!

  6. windinn says:

    Loving your circle use, and it’s great that the page smells so wonderful too! Conversation indeed – coffee is the best way to generate that!

  7. kampysgirl says:

    This spread made me smile! I sit here with my morning coffee and I just enjoyed reading how you used it- you are so clever Ruth! xo

  8. Kay Wallace says:

    I really love this, Ruth, but perhaps for a different reason than most others. There were 14 children in my mother’s family, 7 boys and 7 girls! As siblings grew up, married and moved away, there were still siblings at “home.” My mother called her mother’s house everyday. Whoever answered the phone got this question from my mom: What’s cooking? Family code for What’s up? You art today took me back probably 60 years! Thanks for the trip down Memory Lane! Mwah!

  9. zksmith says:

    Great way to use those coffee thingies! I know people use empty tea bags and stuff. Will have to try that once – I like that brown colour and distressed look they have. Wonderful page! I like how the coffee ties in with the sentiment!

  10. Vicky says:

    How amazing to use coffepads?!

  11. Great Job. So much interest and texture. Sometimes with your work I wish I had the book because I just want to run my fingers over it!

  12. Such a treat to visit with you Ruth.
    I had lots to catch up on.
    This piece is wonderfully textured and interesting especially with the ingredients you used.
    I am always saving coffee filters and tea papers as they seem much too good to waste.
    Circles are fascinating and symbolic and so organic.
    Happy beginning of the weekend to you and yours!
    oxo

  13. Sally says:

    Love the colours and textures in this piece. Mixed media is right up my street!

Leave a Reply

