Remember

I played to create a little frame to this fine young ladyΒ from Tim Holtz’ found relatives collection.

It all began with the challenge #23 over Vintage Journey that asked us to use a portrait in our project. When I saw her, she just seemed to be the perfect one. I was inspired by Tim distressing and rusting techniques. That was the result. If you would like to join me for the making-of story just sit back and relax.

I used a simple chipboard and Tim’s arch frame die to create the arch hole. I thought it is going to be more exciting to use it upside down,so I turned it around. I used Glimmer mist sprays to colour my frame.

Next I added some old book page collage and some texture paste through the burlap stencil.

While it dried I cut some gears with Tim’s gadgets gears. I rusted them with distress paint and cinnamon according to Brenda’s inspiration from Vintage Journey.

Brenda, you were right, they smell amazing, felt like taking a bite, haha. Then I went back to my frame and I added some distress inks (brushed corduroy and walnut stain).

I had some letters, some texture, now I wanted to add some numbers. So I used Stampers Anonymous CMS 086 with copper embossing powder.

There I was, numbers, letters, textures… next of course embellishments:

Self rusted with Brenda’s technique. Here is a close-up, isn’t that gorgeous?

I had the sign “remember” that I altered with alcohol inks. Underneath I added some cambric.

Under my numbers I added an arrow:

Now you have seen all the fine details. Why don’t you jump over for more inspiration to Vintage Journey? There’s still time to join the challenge.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Home deco, Mixed media, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Remember

  1. zksmith says:

    Love that rusty look on the gears! Amazing project – the colours work so well together!

  2. kampysgirl says:

    Okay Ruth! My new favorite!! I love the way you turned the arch and the rusty gears and all of that yummy texture and…well you get the idea- tee hehee I love it- xo

  3. Shilpa says:

    Beautiful frame, Ruth

  4. Vicky says:

    Like your outside the box thinking, the picture frame upside down and the cinnamon for rusting. Every detail works on your picture frame, well done.

  5. windinn says:

    This is a knock-out, Ruth…I’m just sitting here drooling all over my screen!

  6. Love the rusty look and all the little details you added… beautiful work

  7. Fantastic…especially the stand you used! Inspired…

  8. Tracy says:

    Art for all the senses!

  9. loved the finished product and the “journey” of how you created it! Thanks for sharing…

  10. Lisette says:

    Great frame – would love to know the story behind the photo’! The gears look amazing, shame that we can’t smell them too. Can’t wait to try this technique.

    • lerusho says:

      Lisette, the photo is Tim Holtz, it’s the found relatives collection, and the gears smell perfectly even after several days, just love them in the room. πŸ™‚

  11. Julia Aston says:

    Wonderful colors and textures on this pretty frame! Your rusted gears look so real – I love how you used the arch upside down for your framing! thanks so much for joining us in the A Vintage Journey challenge!

  12. S@ndy Diller says:

    Just awesome Ruth – another great project from you. Thank you for sharing with us here at A Vintage Journey

  13. butterfly says:

    Fabulous cinnamon rusting, and I love all the texture on the frame. She looks very happy with her setting, and so she should be! Thanks so much for joining us on A Vintage Journey.
    Alison x

  14. Brenda Brown says:

    Wow Ruth this is wonderful, I adore your framed relative. I am glad you didn’t actually get to eat your rusted cogs, but so glad you had a go at the techniques, you did a great job with them and yes that smell is fabulous isn’t it? Thanks for joining us at A Vintage Journey. hugs Brenda xxx

    • lerusho says:

      Brenda, I am grateful for the new technique, I love using different ingredients in my art projects, and actually Vintage Journey is always so inspirational, thank you to you all πŸ™‚

  15. createwithjoy says:

    What a lovely and meaningful project!
    Your art always inspires me Ruth!
    Congrats – you are one of our Featured Guests at Inspire Me Monday #160 at Create With Joy!

  16. Ruth, I admired this from the thumbnail over at A Vintage Journey, but did not have a chance to visit all my favorites on the blogs. I am so happy your portrait earned a spot as a Pinworthy at AVJ, and I just had to leave you a little note of congratulations! What a wonderful way to display this Found Relative! I love your rusty cogs, and I am an admirer of your creative work!

  17. Ruth says:

    Congrats on you AVJ pinworthy mention, this is a wonderfully textured piece. Ruth x

Leave a Reply

