Why stop dreaming?

Yes, actually why stop dreaming? Dreaming colourful dreams… the more colourful it is the better it is. What do you dream about? Some of us climb rainbows, others chill out next to a beautiful waterfall… me, well I am on my way to my secret garden. Want to join me?

The spread was made in my altered book, I love that sometimes colours or rust comes through. So was it a bit today. First I sprayed my spread with Tattered Angels Glimmer mists (key lime pie and electric blue).

I wanted some soft shade tint, like a sun down, you know when it is sort of reddish, so I misted the edge of my spread and I applied some glimmer glaze (paradise pink).

Oh I felt in Paradise. Next I added some stamping with archival inks, I used Stampotique Originals: Large sunflower (#9256), Tiny bee (#3000) and Swirl stalks (#3028). By the way I love those tiny bees, I was falling in love with them when I first sawΒ them by my friend Lisette (why don’t you go and visit her to see what she is up to).

There it came some more colour spatter with gold glimmer. And somehow I felt that those stalks needs some ground, so I added a doodle one with gel pen.

The head of my sunflower I stamped also apart on an old book page. I used glimmer glaze to colour them (desert sun and paradise pink).

I used a 7 dots studio word sticker for my sentiment, I applied it on canvas fringe that I colour with electric blue glimmer mist. I added some stitches, found object and buttons.

I trimmed my flower heads, and applied them with foam tape to create some dimension.

Here is my sentiment on my spread:

And finally a close-up on my stalks:

Didn’t it feel like divingΒ intoΒ a splash of colours?

I am sharing my spread with Stampotique designers challenge: colour splash.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal, Mixed media, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Why stop dreaming?

  1. windinn says:

    What a wonderfully colourful spread, Ruth – I love it, and the sense of a continual dream!

  2. Kay Wallace says:

    This is absolutely full of fun color, Ruth, so you have “answered” this challenge beautifully. But, what you have also accomplished is to create a pathway to a dream. How cool is that??

  3. Yep, that’s a secret garden full of wonderful color! I really like that little bee stamp as well as the flower. And, as always, I love when you add your little fabric and stitching bits and bobbles! Such a sweet spread Ruth! Gonna head on over and check Lisette’s place! Have an AWESOME weekend my friend! πŸ™‚

  4. leacayoung says:

    I love pages built on print. These are lovely.

  5. I love the book page showing through Ruth. Lovely colours and the elements work so well.

  6. Lisette says:

    Glorious colours and fabulous pages. The book pages are the perfect backdrop and I love what you have done with the sunflowers. The best thing is that have all the stamps πŸ™‚

  7. zksmith says:

    Cute page! It looks so effortless! I bet it didn’t take you long to put this together, yet it looks awesome!

  8. dutchstamptramp says:

    Beautiful pages again and I always love your step by step pictures. Thanks for joining the Stampotique DC again!

  9. Totally gorgeous as always Ruth!
    Thanks so much for sharing with us at Stampotique πŸ™‚

  10. kampysgirl says:

    Beautiful dreamy pages! I love the doodle garden coming up from the bottom! xo

  11. kaz says:

    Fabulous details on your colourful page. Thanks for joining in with my challenge on Stampotique this week!

  12. coby says:

    Wat een mooie pagina’s weer, prachtig hoe je ze weer hebt opgebouwd! Dank je wel voor het mee doen bij de Challenge van Stampotique!

  13. Sue The Iron says:

    Absolutely gorgeous Ruth, I really like your idea to alter a book, and I love how you’ve stitched your sentiment. Thanks so much for joining in with us at Stampotique. Sue xx

  14. *Arwen* says:

    Another wonderful project! Amazing Ruth
    Thanks for joining us at the Stampotique Designers Challenge πŸ™‚

    xx Arwen

  15. Gez says:

    Gorgeous, gorgeous pages β™₯
    Thank you for joining the Stampotique Designer’s Challenge. Gez

  16. Great tutorial! Love the color!

  17. So beautiful!
    Have a lovely weekend Ruth and thanks for joining in with us at Stampotique πŸ™‚ x

Leave a Reply

