Just be yourself

Today I was journaling, and what came into my mind that there’s nothing more important than ‘be yourself’, well actually just be yourself in the crowd! I am not going to lecture for long, I just show you what I created:

I began with a scrap collage that I accentuated with some shadows.

I used old book page, gelli prints that I cut with Sizzix die, and canvas pieces. It needed some colour, so I used this time Lindy’s stamp gang sprays. I stamped some texture with Tim Holtz’s mixed media stamp.

While it dried I got my image ready, my crowd. It was a simple line drawing that I distressed with distress ink and some softer pencil lines like shades. I added some more collage items to it, like a gelli printed tag, letter stickers, canvas piece and I stitched all together. I even decided to add a found object.

Here it is, applied on my spread:

I used Stampotique’s Altered Alpha stamp (#7230) to stamp ‘be’ onto my spread, the ‘yourself’ is letter sticker again, and of course the ‘in the crowd’ is handwritten with gel pen.

To highlight the difference I used even one different colour of button as embellishment on my scrap pieces.

So ‘just be yourself in the crowd’!

I am sharing my spread with Journal 52 prompt: Be.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal, Gelli Arts, Mixed media, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Just be yourself

  1. Most important you message is beautiful. The art work is creative and fits your message well nice blog post

  2. Kay Wallace says:

    Ruth, this is just amazing! I haven’t seen such a great “collage” in a long time Each element that you added is unique, yet, together, they just sing! I especially love how you stitched the tag bit to your crowd! Well done, yes indeed! Applause! Applause!

  3. massofhair says:

    Fantastic page Ruth, love the stitching and the message is very important:-) xxx

  4. Fantastic layout Ruth…love how you composed the pieces!

  5. Brilliant page with so much texture created – I have just joined journal 52 and am loving it

    Have a great Sunday

  6. windinn says:

    I’m loving how all the geometric elements move my eye from one part of the page to the other – it’s a great visual treat, Ruth!

  7. love the detail of the other colored button. Did you do the drawing yourself?

  8. zksmith says:

    Love this Ruth! Your shading makes the elements pop off the page! I like how you used the cut-out pieces from the die-cut shape. So clever! Will try to remember this!

  9. Love the quote, it is hard at times to forget ourselves, only to follow the masses. Wonderfully inspiring. And your shading is so refined, in all of your work.

  10. Sally says:

    Beautiful work. Love the layout, textures and colours used. Very inspiring.

  11. kampysgirl says:

    This is a great spread Ruth! Not only do I love your stitching, But I always admire your shading/darkening of the edges with that pencil- you always give such depth! xo

  12. Lindsay says:

    Love both the quote and the collage! It’s nice to see the work in progress too, I’m always happy to find some inspiration by other artists. πŸ™‚

  13. Catherine says:

    Lovely. Am also doing journal52 and my just be is very different. Love the way we all interpret them differently. Catiecuddles aka Catherine x

    • lerusho says:

      Thanks Catherine! Art journaling is very personal, it is your dairy so it reflects you, your thoughts, your feelings. I use to say that you need to be brave to share it, but you are right that it is interesting to observe all the differences or to find similarities in our expressions.

Leave a Reply

