Be creative, be unique and be strong

I think I am still in my resolution period. If you ask me what I would like to do in 2015, my answer is: “be creative, be unique and be strong“. I need to remind myself to my aims and not only for myself, but also for others. To show that I mean what I say and do.

I used a canvas 10′ x 10′, I applied some texture paste with Harlequin stencil.

Then I added my first layers: canvas, lace and some peeled wood. I covered it with gesso.

My second layer included some found objects, rope, and of course self made embellishments (the flower and the leaves I made from casting powder, I pushed into it dryer lemon slice and dried autumn leaves). Everything got covered with a layer of gesso again.

I was satisfied with my layering so now I wanted to add some colours. I used bistre and sprayed Tattered angels Glimmer mist on it (crocheted doily and marmalade).

Next I wanted to give some colour to my flower embellishments, so I used Glimmer glam caspian sea and Glimmer glaze island spring. My leaves got a layer of Glimmer glaze sweet pea pod and Glimmer glam luck o’ the Irish. Finally my spoon got another layer of Glimmer glam celebrate.

I wanted to add more glitter to my flower so used some glass glitter.

I felt my spoon is so empty, so I used there some glass beads and some self rusted found objects.

Finally I added my aims with 7 dots studios word stickers that I popped with black gel pen.

I guess I can wish to each and every one of us: be creative, be unique and be strong!

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Canvas, Mixed media, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Be creative, be unique and be strong

  1. Kay Wallace says:

    Your creative color palette first draws me in, then the absolute attention to detail! And, texture, texture, texture! An amazing and inspirational piece, Ruth! You never cease to impress me with your artful journey!

  2. YOU, my friend rocked this one!!!! I love the whole thing Ruth!! ALL those great elements and textures and, OF COURSE, I love that color pallette!! Ruth, you ALWAYS amaze me with your creativity and new and fun techniques! Love this! Blessings

  3. windinn says:

    As always, I’m loving your multiple layers, textures, and juicy colour. Your text really speaks to me, too!

  4. Julie Short says:

    Such wonderful layering and a perfect message for everyone!

  5. zksmith says:

    I would say this page is very creative, unique and strong! Love all those dimensions!

  6. Shel C says:

    I really love this canvas Ruth. Every bit of the texture is so well balanced and the color pallette turned out perfect . Great piece!

  7. massofhair says:

    Stunning canvas Ruth, it has so much texture and i love your colour palette very much šŸ™‚ xxx

  8. Susan Carol says:

    Wow, this is just awesome. Love how you build up the layers and love the warm colours.

  9. I already find you very unique, creative and strong. Fantastic canvas

  10. Very exciting to see your canvas evolve into that beautiful and colorful final creation!
    Thank you for sharing Ruth.
    oxo

  11. I love how you developed this.

  12. kampysgirl says:

    You my friend, are absolutely each of these- as is your art! Love this canvas,Ruth! xo

Leave a Reply

