Dream, sparkle and shine

December, the magical month, it is full of dreaming, dreaming of great family times, of being together with loved ones; it is full of sparkles, sparkles of candles, sparkles of stars and sparkles of blazing wood; it is full of shine, shine of gold and silver packaging, shine of decorations and shine of icicle hanging from the window frame. I all journaled about it: dream big, sparkle more, shine bright…

I worked in my handmade art journal, first I made a little bit less shine, more silver-greyish scrap collage on my spread:

I added some stamping with archival ink to my spread and then colorized it with Lindy’s stamp gang sprays that are shining by themselves:

I wrote my text using Faber-Castell black marker on a scrap piece, underneath I added some golden metallic thread. To hold it I used polished, shining brads.

Finally I added some more embellishments and splattered some golden acrylic ink on my spread.

So just open your soul and dream, sparkle and shine this month, as it is you who makes all the magic happen.

I am sharing my spread with Journal 52 prompt sparkle and shine and with Art Journal Journey prompt collage. Thanks for joining me today.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal, Mixed media, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Dream, sparkle and shine

  1. Valerie-Jael says:

    Beautiful collage, it good to be able to enjoy light, sparkle and shine in the dark months of the year. Thanks for joining us at Art Journal Journey again! Valerie

  2. great composition, as always.

  3. Cool! I like that you show the half finished page as well, fun to see!
    Sparkle on and shine bright! 🙂

  4. froebelsternchen says:

    JUST AMAZING Ruth!
    This is sooo beautiful!
    Thank you for sharing this with us over at Art Journal Journey! I am so happy having you with us !

  5. Jaded says:

    Lovely, has a uniquely festive feel. I like all the elements, but the red star shape adds extra sparkle and reminds me of a pomegranate, which my Grandad would bring home at Christmas time as a child. This one also feels like it has encaustic medium, but you don’t mention it so I guess not.

    • lerusho says:

      Jaded, sorry but no encaustic on this, that’s a handmade paper, so hot wax would destroy the paper. I used only acrylic inks and Lindy’s stamp gangs oh and glitters. That’s all. 😉

  6. windinn says:

    I’m very much liking the combination of rustic with sparkle – it creates a sense of a homey Christmas day.

  7. zksmith says:

    Wonderful page, Ruth! Very worthy for your special journal! The arrow is my favourite element in this. I just love arrows, don’t ask why!

  8. zksmith says:

    Ooo, I love circles too! I LOVE EVERYTHING, LOL! Just noticed that you’ve linked this to Sunday sentiments! Yay! And what an inspiring sentiment it is too!

  9. Dear Ruth ~ I am absolutely enchanted by your beautiful page
    AND your perfect words to illustrate it too!
    Shimmer
    Glimmer
    Flare in this special month of Lights
    oxo

  10. Lisette says:

    Love those splatters and text against that beautiful background.

  11. Lindsay says:

    I’m glad I’ve found your blog… I believe this page looks wonderful. Now I’ll continue to read your earlier posts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

