Off with their heads!

End november I created an encaustic piece, where the inspiration was Caroll Lewis’s Through the looking glass. Caroll Lewis’s two most famous pieces are Alice in wonderland and Through the looking glass. Even though there is so much common in the two books, he intentionally created different characters in his books. After my first piece, my dear artist friend Marieke Blokland came up with the idea, that I may make a set and continue. I answered I will consider it. I still don’t know if there are more pieces to come and if how many, but here is the second piece inspired by Caroll Lewis’s book. Can you guess who?

Off with their heads!

Of course she is her Majesty the Queen of Hearts. Β Lewis wrote about his character: “I pictured to myself the Queen of Hearts as a sort of embodiment of ungovernable passion – a blind and aimless Fury”. So my mind was beginning to work. I want my heart, but a different heart, a heart that is full of passion, what is passion, passion is showing your emotion, something very emotional, tears are the best mirrors of emotions and tears are like raindrops. So let’s use a medium that usually not going together with wax: acrylic, just to make it ungovernable.

I used France Papillon’s my heart and Magda’s raindrops from Stampotique to my passionate heart. But as you know me it can’t be enough for me, so I had to play more with the word hearts by itself, even to turn that e like a rolling head and to bring back another small heart from cubed heart stamp. The letters are Altered alpha from Stampotique.

After the acrylic paint properly dried, I applied the first few layers of encaustic medium.

I wanted to have some more texture, so I was beginning to experiment. First I wanted some sort of a card pattern, what can it be, well I ended up with a self cut of trellis stencil. I applied several layers and I fused the end and the beginning.

And I played with masking tape, that I tore to pieces, I applied my encaustic medium, waited till it cooled off a bit, and just before of complete cooling so it won’t break I peeled the masking tape back.

And finally another play time was with pan pastel, I used pan pastel at the edges. After applying I fused the pan pastel into the encaustic medium. It gives a great mix was just falling in love with definitely I need to play with it more.

So how do you like her Majesty? Off with my head or not?

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Canvas, Mixed media, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Off with their heads!

  1. windinn says:

    Fabulous, Ruth…I can definitely see a series in this for you!

  2. Jaded says:

    Yes, I love this version of the Queen or Hearts, with tears and emotion. Love the process, how you build layers like a story unfolding. Would love to see more in this series, I’m imaging twists and turns with this subject. For instance a dark piece reflecting all that internalised inner turmoil and fury the Queen might have. I must try this encaustic medium.

    • lerusho says:

      Thanks Jaded, encaustic playing will definitely continue, I am getting more and more tempted to go on with Lewis, and his inspiration, so let’s see…

  3. vickiross says:

    You are so good about your process, Ruth! I couldn’t contain myself when I first tried PanPastels in encaustic. perfect! I may post my project…Keep up the good work!

  4. zksmith says:

    This will make a great series, Ruth, keep going! Incidentally, my December tag has the title Queen of Hearts! I can’t share it until Christina has received it, but what a coincidence!

  5. Abigail Davidson says:

    This is so gorgeous! Beautiful mix of texture and pattern, and great inspiration — looking forward to seeing more!

  6. dannylion says:

    Seriously – one of my favorites thus far by you! I love the heart and tears – it speaks to me!

  7. Love the play with your homemade stencil and the masking tape. I would however add a touch of black on the page to break up the red a bit, i know it’s all about the queen of hearts and she is red…

  8. Tracy says:

    You’ve definitely captured her!

  9. kampysgirl says:

    I too am a fan of the queen of hearts! Great encaustic play Ruth- yes, do more- would love to see a series! “)

  10. Faye says:

    Beautiful encaustic/acrylics work, Ruth.

  11. Giggles says:

    Wow this is sooo cool!

    Hugs Giggles

Leave a Reply

