My enchanted garden

And here we go further in the magical month of december, so everything needs to be magical. For me what seems to be “extra” magical is those zentangles. I always adored the people, who can sit and draw those lines for hours. I am a lot more textural, and in that I mean, I need some physically touchable texture, some bumps and burls and curls… and I need some layers of paint. So I tried my best, to get out of my mixed media box and create a doodled spread.

As you can see I couldn’t work without any colours. So first I used a background that I painted with different acrylic inks and water.

To achieve a bit vintaged look I sanded my surface a bit, so de acrylic ink got a peeled touch. Then I simply took my Artline black markers from 0.2 till 0.6 and began to doodle. I knew I wanted to have some plants and then I was just letting it free, whatever came and wherever. I don’t think it is proportional, well actually it is totally not. And of course a practiced zentangler would say, how could you force that pattern there. I agree 100% with all that. Mea culpa, mea maxima culpa. This is more difficult than to get a mixed media spread ready.

Some details:

I am sharing my spread with Journal 52 prompt: doodle.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to My enchanted garden

  1. dannylion says:

    I love love love your enchanted garden!!!!! I think it is perfect!

  2. windinn says:

    This is exquisite, Ruth – Love the colour and the doodling…yummmmmmmmmmm!

  3. Lisette says:

    Love the enchanted garden – somewhere that Alice might have ended up if she was written about in the 21st Century. Love your creative mind.

  4. zksmith says:

    Beautiful Ruth! Love your doodles! You should do them more often 😉

  5. I just love your zentangle garden.

  6. Susan Carol says:

    It really is a magical spread with the vibrant colours and bold zentangles.

  7. kampysgirl says:

    Holy moly! didn’t realize how far behind I am!! heehee- love all of your doodling- have to admit, I don’t have the patience for this- so I may be a bit jelli! heehee

Leave a Reply

