Make a wish…

Did you make a wish already? Or did you make a long wish list? Well, I guess for most of us would be the last one, as during the years it is all adding up… and if you still didn’t wish,  than just look up the stars, it is never too late, who knows, it is miracle time!

The Curiosity Crew at Compendium of Curiosities 3 keeps challenge #16 with layering stencils, that you can find in Tim Holtz’s book page 50. Why don’t you check it and join in, and if you need some supplies you can visit The Funkie Junkie Boutique, who sponsors this challenge.

Close your eyes, make a wish, now you can open it:

I worked on card stock, the base is old paper the edge is distressed with brushed corduroy. The second layer is weathered wood, edge distressed with faded jeans. On the second layer I played with faded dots stencil to create the layering technique from page 50, and the gothic stencil. I added a ribbon and I stitched it on my base. I used archival inks to stamp my text and image, they are Stampers Anonymous stamps coming from CMS 142 and CMS154. Finally I wanted to have some stars so they are idea-ology mirrored star embellishments. Here are some close-ups as well:

Wishing you a WONDERFUL time of the year and hoping that all YOUR wishes will come true!

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Cards, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Make a wish…

  1. Lisette says:

    Very cool card. Love that tartan ribbon with the blue and those stars…. mmm! Hope you get everything you wish for too 🙂

  2. Ruth, this is just stinking cute!! LOVE it! Hey, my list keeps getting longer and longer and longer!! LOL But, a list is just a list!! Good old Santa has to visit my girls FIRST!!! LOL If I’m lucky, he will visit me as well! LOL Love it! Blessings! 🙂

  3. windinn says:

    Thanks so much for this post, Ruth. It’s prompted me to make a wish for all artists everywhere: may you keep creating, continue discovering, grow in your art, play with it, and experience the nirvana of art-making soul work…for this year, and the rest of your life.

  4. candycolwell says:

    Oh Ruth! This is so adorable! Your layered stenciling is superb! I so love the stencils you used to created that wonderful background! Love the colors, too! Your old paper that you’ve further distressed with brushed corduroy is such a great beginning to mount your layered stenciled background. I also love what you’ve done with Tim’s very retro-ish Santa and the “make a wish” label. The final perfect touch is the mirrored stars and that very cute red plaid ribbon. Love it! Thanks for sharing your art with all of us at CC3C. ❤ Candy

  5. zksmith says:

    Best wishes to you too Ruth! I don’t trust Santa with presents – I buy my own! Santa has a track record of getting it wrong – senile, old man! Cute card, by the way! Lovely sentiments from Win!

  6. Abigail Davidson says:

    So cute! That color combination of light blue with burgundy/tartan ribbon is really gorgeous!

  7. marjiekemper says:

    Sweeeeeeeeet! Love your colors and the stitching. Thanks for joining us again at CC3C, Ruth!

  8. I love the glossy dots. Last week i bought a bag of stars in Ava that look like these, I wanted to use them on one of the christmas cards but made a stamp instead. I’ve read a couple of times that you use the compendium book from Tim Holtz, is this a book you would highly recommend? Should I maybe place that on my wish list?

  9. kampysgirl says:

    Ruth, I made my wish! You really nailed the effects you were going for! Fab vintage card!!

  10. Susan Mostek says:

    Fabulous card, Ruth! I love the use of the Faded Dots and Gothic Layering Stencils! They worked out so well for the background! Love the use of the Mirrored Stars and ribbon as well. Great job!

  11. I never thought of “make a wish” as a Christmas sentiment, but I do now! It goes perfectly with that cute retro Santa. Your layered stenciling is very well done and those mirrored stars are just the thing. Love this!

  12. How cute and retro fun!!! LOVE the blue and the embossing! FUN and festive!!! Thanks so much for playing along with us on the Layering Stencil Embossing Challenge at CC3Challenge!

Leave a Reply

