Through the looking glass

Today I just played. I created because I felt like. I didn’t really know where my mojo will take me. I pulled a piece of card board passé partout and as I stared at it my eyes dropped on the bookshelf. I walked to it, closed my eyes and let my fingers ran through the books, let some other power decide which one I will pick. I pulled Through the looking glass from Lewis Caroll. So here is my creation:

In a Wonderland they lie, dreaming as the days go by, dreaming as the summers die: 
ever drifting down the stream – lingering in the golden gleam – life, what is it but a dream?

Isn’t that true? Life can’t be seriously more then a dream, actually our dreams are moving us all forward, our dreams are making us create new and wonderful things, our dreams challenges us to dare the impossible, so life, if we live it full, must be definitely a dream.

The Looking glass is an experiment, I played with natural ingredients, so I melted beeswax and damar together create a sort of encaustic paint, of course no measurements made, just a bit of this and a bit of that. I pushed into it some altered found objects: a washer and some metallic gardening cord.

That was my looking glass. Dream is something that is in the clear blue, somewhere there, not defined, just floating around, for my blue effect I added some metallic blue oil paint.

The texture here I created with moving my brush in different directions fast and not fusing the wax down. I got sort of a bubble effect that I felt like matching the idea of dreams and a bit of cold as the days go by and the summers die… The opposite corner is the life, where I wanted to create some rough, unequal texture, some darkness, sort of troubled difficulty to come through and as I worked with natural materials I decided to add jasmine tea for texture.

Yes you read it good, that thing is tea, jasmine tea, it smells great added to beeswax and creates a wonderful texture, all that bumps like tiny beads or stones. All that shiny wax reminded me to glass, not clear, but steamed, like a fading dream.

Looking glass

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Canvas, Mixed media, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Through the looking glass

  1. Nigel says:

    This is beautiful, very delicate.

    I must dig out the beeswax again one day.

  2. kampysgirl says:

    Absolutely gorgeous! So organic and almost ethereal Ruth!! My new favorite my friend!!xoxo

  3. vickiross says:

    Hope this comes thru on the encaustic post 🙂 I’m on my phone. This is fantastic! Love you saying you didn’t measure your beeswax and damar. When I make mine I use scales! So anal, Victoria is

    • lerusho says:

      I don’t have patience to play around with measuring, I love the chemistry part of melting them together, when I see the small pieces become a fluid mixture that freezes to a special surface, and of course I am addicted to the beeswax smell 🙂

  4. zksmith says:

    Lovely quote – it’s great how you let your mojo guide you. I still tend to overthink things. Beeswax is something I’ve never tried but I really like that special, instantly recognizable look it creates. Tea leaves, really?! Nothing surprises me any more!

    • lerusho says:

      Yeah, tea, very simple, you know I need to play with everything that comes into my hand, and why not? By the way with beeswax it smells amazingly especially this jasmine one 😉

  5. Angela says:

    Love that you were free of restraints and went for it and I adore the natural and textured, but creamy, look of this. I also love the things that you wrote. Your words were moving as I haven’t let go for the sake of just creating in a while. Thanks for the inpsiration. 🙂

  6. Joys says:

    Love this. Exactly how I’m feeling now. What a great idea to use jasmine and beeswax. Thank you.

  7. wow, great experimenting. Love the beeswax and the tea, awesome.

Leave a Reply

