Joy

As you already know I am not really in the card making business, but there are certain times of the year when people expect from you to use the regular snail mail system and send a few great seasonal lines to them. I need to admit, that a good old-fashioned Xmas card never satisfied me, so I love the idea of Craft Stamper Magazine Take it, Make it November challenge that asks: Β “Use a non Christmas stamp to create a Christmas themed image!”Β Yuppie, that’s for me. I immediately began to brainstorm and pushed my hand inside the drawer that holds my favourite stamps, of course Stampotique Originals. So not any Xmas stamp was used and here is the result:

The background is actually the new Sizzix Tim Holtz embossing folder Snowfall, that I inked with distress ink.

And now my trees, oh my trees… yes, there I used Stampotique Originals In stitches (#8118) stamp with embossing ink and clear embossing powder. Then I coloured my backgroundΒ with dylusion inks and finally I ironed the clear embossing powder down. Like that I got a decoration like fir trees, so I just needed to trim some, a bigger and a smaller. Then I used 2 hearts out of Hanging hearts (#6119) stamp with archival ink to decorate the top of those trees.

For the text Joy I used Alphabitties (#6010) and Encore gold ink. Finally I draw the ground under my trees with a gel pen and tadaah:

Have a very merry and joyous holiday Everyone!

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Cards, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Joy

  1. kampysgirl says:

    Oh Ruth!! Simply adorable!! I love what you did here and Hallmark has a run for it’s money with this design! “) xoxo my friend

  2. zksmith says:

    I like your creative use of the stamps and the snowfall looks awesome!

  3. well this certainly puts me in the holiday mood. Very pretty!

  4. 3renee says:

    This is beautiful, especially the snowfall! Thanks for joining us at the Take It, Make It Challenge.

  5. Susan Carol says:

    Beautiful card. Love the trees, just perfect for the snowfall backround. I’d say you made wonderful cards!

  6. Shel C says:

    I love this card Ruth πŸ™‚ You should make more cards. Great use of the lines as tree bling!

  7. Lisette says:

    Great card – I haven’t seen this embossing folder, you’ve showcased it so well and of course I have to have it!!

    • lerusho says:

      Thanks Lisette, that’s in the new winter collection, Snowfall and Falling trees, together, actually it’s also a must-have, hihi πŸ˜‰ ok I have a Snowfall, but I still couldn’t find the deer, the new one seems too big for me, so I have also items on my wish list, somehow it’s not finishing…

  8. justaddwatersilly says:

    Ooh, the texture of this is so cool!! Visiting from AEDM

  9. Your design is fabulous! I love the textures – I really though you had stitched the ‘layers’ of branches / snow onto the trees – took me a while to work out you had used the ‘stitching’ stamp. Lovely!

  10. massofhair says:

    Wondrous card, great idea to use everyday stamps to create Xmas scene. The TH embossing folder is a need if you like snow. Love your creation very much:-) xxx

  11. Linda W says:

    This is fab! Love the snowfall background. Thanks for joining in with the TIMI challenge …. good luck! Linda xx

  12. Nikki K says:

    A great card, I love stampotique stamps and they are brilliant used in this way. Thank you for joining us in the TIMI challenge at Craft Stamper this month. Nikki K. xx

Leave a Reply

