Home sweet home in my altered book

Home sweet home, that is my spread for today in my altered book:

Do you feel like joining me for that creative journey at my “home town”? It all began with covering a page with black gesso in my altered book.

Then came a layer of white acrylic spread with Brayer, I love the texture that the paint gives when I use a thicker layer spread with Brayer.

Then came some stencilling work with black graphite texture paste, the sun, some clouds and the houses.

It was a nice monochrome image, but if we talk about home, it needs to be warm and colourful, and exactly that feeling I missed at this point. So I decided to colour my spread with aquarelle.

Great now I have the colours, but I need something that brings my spread to life, something living, so I decided to add some birds with gel pen and to make them more dimensional I was even drawing there flight route with pencil and adding glass beads as their bodies. As I had my gel pen in my hand, I added my text as well.

Finally I splattered some yellow around as sun rays and light all over.

Okey, the sun is not always shining by us, even today it is quiet grey and rainy (channel weather), but I would like to visualise my home town as a sunny place full home bird tweets. What about your vision of your home town?

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal, Mixed media, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Home sweet home in my altered book

  1. kampysgirl says:

    yea, I get what you mean about grey and drizzly- we are due for snow tomorrow!!
    Love how much texture you got from that brayer!! I wouldn’t have thought so- and I really like the idea of the beads for bodies- thanks for all the inspiration this morning my friend! xo

  2. Loved the journey and you know that little houses are just my thing. Maybe a seasonal set?

  3. Susan Carol says:

    How funny to see that you have done a home sweet home page – I’ve just done a no place like home page!!! I LOVE yours, its warm and cheery and fun, just like our homes and towns and villages should be.

  4. rhodyart says:

    love the colors!

  5. Ruth, this is way too cute! I love this spread…pretty much just everything about it! It’s just stinkin clever! I love it! Blessings!

  6. hello Ruth, probably you posted this this morning, because now the sun is out and it’s almost spring weather. i love your page, it’s so childlike, unspoiled, warm feeling one has when thinking about home.

    • lerusho says:

      Vicky, we were sitting under a heavy cloud till noon, grey… but you are right now the sun is out, window open, yoehoe, can’t believe it, end october and my chauffage stopped, what else can we ask for?

  7. zksmith says:

    Lovely page, Ruth! I like the idea of white brayering over black to create your background. Simple, yet so effective!

  8. 1cardcreator says:

    Gorgeous pages, love all the layered paints, really effective! Thanks for stopping by to leave me a sweet comment too. ~Diane

  9. massofhair says:

    My home isn’t sunny but it is warm without being too hot, remember Goldilocks you will get my point lol.

    I love listening to the rain, seeing the patterns in the puddles and the occasional gentle rumble of thunder…. calming just writing this out.

    Wonderful pages Ruth, great textures and i adore how you see your home:-) xxx

  10. kraaftshaak says:

    great page AGAIN! I love it Ruth. You inspire me yet again to get out my book and create. Thank you.

  11. Ester says:

    Your art journal page looks great, I love the warmth of it :).

Leave a Reply

