Haunted, wicked, ghoulish…

Don’t tell me I didn’t warn you it is getting hunted, wicked, ghoulish… So here it is:

Trick and treat… but for candies, everyone is busy with making candy bags, but guess what, I hate candies, that sweet sticky things in my mouth, neeee that’s not me, I love pens, pencils, brushes, so if I could go again I would ask for art supplies, anyone? So I made a haunted, wicked, ghoulish pen holder.

I took a piece of canvas, that I decorated with zig-zag stitches at the edges. I painted some spider webs with acrylic and a stencil on the background and I sprayed the rest with glimmer mists, I thought first it’s not going to be dark enough as I wanted something real reddish, but then I was really satisfied that it didn’t come out so dark. The blue is dark enough.

While it dried I used Sizzix skull blueprint framelits to die cut my skulls. I sewed them together on the middle line.

Creepy, boo… than I stamped my spiders on my canvas and from my spiders I stitched a line to my webs, like the spiders would hang or swing on my webs.

First I used orange acrylic to paint my words, but then it didn’t seem to fit my background, so I smashed my orange to create another layer and when it dried I just ran black posca over the letters. It’s more contrast.

I added a button into the front, so I can close it when it is full. That’s how it looked like before I sewed the pockets.

And now a finished front view with the button and a back view:

That moment I thought I am going to have a haunted, wicked, ghoulish,ย “Halloween” pen holder, but only till my son returned from school. Of course he has to have it… because it is so ‘cool’.

I am sharing my Halloween pen holder withย Sizzix Halloween challenge.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Home deco, Mixed media, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Haunted, wicked, ghoulish…

  1. I love the idea of you knocking on doors, rejecting sweets and asking for art supplies! Fabulous holder – I’ve been hankering after Mr Stripes forever!

    • lerusho says:

      Isn’t that a better idea? I mean less on dentist more on art… Mr Stripes, oh Lisette, he is also a must-have, he was among the first ones on my list, so cute, so fitting every place, you may ask for Mr Stripes in your ‘trick and treat’ bag… there you go, another idea ;-D

  2. kampysgirl says:

    Of course you son had to have it- I wanted it too! heehee and Ruth, if you come trick or treating to my home, you shall surely receive art supplies from me! xoxo

  3. zksmith says:

    Great idea to make a pencil case! It looks fab! I can almost touch it!

  4. There is no end to your artistic talents Ruth…
    such a cool pencil case with the skull…
    very nice stitching and construction too!
    Your son has good taste.
    oxo

  5. laurahollar says:

    Heya lerusho! I just wanted to congratulate you on be selected as The Sizzix Challenge Halloween winner! Please check your email for a message from me ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

