Rose or thorns

Isn’t that magical how from a little bulb a green leaf breaks through the ground, then it grows stronger and finally blossoms. Rose is one of the most beautiful flowers, but all their beauty comes with thorns, so if you would like to pick them you need to be careful.

You have no rose without a thorn, avoid the pricks and gather the flower. It is another Indian sentiment. I was beginning with a simple scrap collage.

I added some shadows with red chalk, I stamped a script with distress ink and I used texture paste with Prima’s stencil for my roses.

I used aquarelle wax crayons to colour my roses.

Finally I added my text on a scrap paper that I altered and positioned on a piece of canvas.

I added some more collage elements with charcoal shadows.

I am sharing my magical roses with Journal 52 prompt magic and with Sunday sentiments. Have a great creative week sweeties!

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Rose or thorns

  1. zksmith says:

    Love this Ruth! I especially like how you coloured the texture paste. Also, those tiny stenciled dots look so great! Thanks for linking this to Sunday Sentiments!

  2. This is awesome Ruth…love it all!

  3. Anita Mistry says:

    Love your page – I also like to use texture paste in my artwork with stencils. Anita

  4. vickilou92 says:

    Ditto! Love the tinted molding paste, and in luv with those cute little dots!

  5. I enjoy seeing how you start each page. The texture paste and colors really make the images jump of the page…and love the sentiment

  6. wandahentges says:

    A wonderful page, Ruth!!!

  7. kampysgirl says:

    Love that texture paste with color!! Yummy for sure! xoxo

  8. kraaftshaak says:

    this is gorgeous! It has so many elements, yet you kept it simple. I love that it has some white space – I am trying to so hard to do that in my art. The roses are the perfect focal point and your message is prominently showcased. I love all of it!

  9. Susan Carol says:

    I love seeing how you build up your layers. Love how you coloured your roses.

  10. Vicky says:

    Love the texture flower.

  11. Sylvia Tabor says:

    Beautiful mixed media!!! I love how you colored your roses and that texture paste — wow– the dimension is fantastic!!!

  12. Texture + color = awesomeness! Love it.

  13. Tracy says:

    So much luscious texture, it makes me want to reach out and touch it, Ruth.

Leave a Reply

