Life is a mosaic

Mosaic for me is an assemblage from tiny little bits. Like breaking something down to the very elemental of it and create it again as a united entity. At Journal 52 this week we need to get our inspiration from mosaics. So once I read that great sentiment from an Indian Guru (sorry don’t remember name): life is a mosaic of pleasure and pain. It’s true, our life is fragments of happiness and sadness; success and failure; acceptance and rejection.

I had a start with some scrap collage, it’s a sort of mosaic as well.

Then I added some colour (ecoline) and stamping (Prima Cigarbox).

NextΒ I added some stitches, it’s also a way to assemble things. And my main image as a mosaic (texture paste with acrylic).

And finally came my text, some cambric and lace, some embellishments and copper glass glitter. The bottom of the page asked for some doodling so I made a nice mosaic line.

I am sharing my spread with Joural 52.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Life is a mosaic

  1. zksmith says:

    I like how the texture in the figure resembles mosaics. I also like the subtle colours – not too much, just a little. I’m still in a phase where I need to use LOTS of colour – I’m sure I’ll grow out of it one day, LOL!

    • lerusho says:

      Zsuzsa lot of colours are not a bad thing, and sometimes I also use all kinds of different tints, but sometimes I want the emphasis on the image or on the text, then I think I need to limit my colour palette. xox πŸ™‚

  2. RuTh, I just joined Kraafty Kommunity and have a related question since I see your posts in several places. I assume your master post is on your blog. Then what next?how and what do you share with your social media groups? Something individual for each? Thx, xoxoxo Vicki

    • lerusho says:

      Vicki that depends on the post, usually it is the same and I copy the url of my blog post, but sometimes it is different, because different groups has also different interests and I always try to adjust it to my group or my community. And the few forewords that people will know what is in my post I type it and the blog post link I copy it in. Hope that answers your question, but if you would like to know more just ask πŸ˜‰

  3. tabortooth says:

    Oh, mosaics !!! Beautiful art work!!

  4. That mosaic for the figure is another inspirational idea. There’s a brooding feel to this piece as if things are about to happen!

    • lerusho says:

      Happy I am Lisette if I was giving another idea, by the way this is stencilling work with two different stencils, but I was thinking about stamping through stencil to create the same mosaic idea, that can also give something interesting πŸ˜‰

  5. I love your take on mosaic

  6. I really like this page Ruth. All the different elements work well together and fit the mosaic theme really well.

  7. massofhair says:

    Great words for your page, your figure is mindful of how the fabric of life is created, one small step at a time, we are all mosaics adding to the richness of our lives as we learn, grow and gain wisdom.

    Your page has moved me very much Ruth, it has made me see something that we don’t always put together, today i have had a ‘light bulb’ moment.

    THANK YOU…:-) xxx

  8. Hi Ruth!
    Klasse, deine Texturen sind 1a.
    Das ganze Bild hast du toll gestaltet.
    Lg Sandra

  9. Susan Carol says:

    This is amazing, Ruth. Love the quote. The mosaic person is genius!

  10. kampysgirl says:

    I always love your pieces and how they begin with scraps-certainly a mosaic of its own! xo

Leave a Reply

