Fall magic tote bag

What shall we do with left over canvas and some fall decoration? Well why not a fabulous tote bag. It’s the best to take our sketchbook along on a pleasant nature wandering. Here is my design:

The bag canvas is a left over from one of my exhibitions, where I wanted to create a wooden background, so I ordered some wooden plank print on canvas. The bag design I have it for years, I love it, easy to make and comes handy for a season. The deco piece I created on the back side of the wooden print. So first I distressed the edges and then I painted my canvas with glimmer mists sprays.

Next I stamped on my piece of canvas with archival ink. I turned and turned the piece, till I figured out in which way I would like to use it.

It is so typical with me, if the rain falls down it can not be normal with me. I am definitely an upside down person. I colorised another piece of canvas with glimmer mists sprays and using Sizzix alphanumeric die cut the text “fall magic”. I applied my text on my canvas.

As you know it doesn’t always rain at the autumn, sometimes the sunshines and we get some nice and warm days (my favourites). So I took a tcw stencil and some yellow acrylic and added my sunshine.

I always have some leaves left and of course some flower embellishments, and these ones here are the best examples of the beautiful autumn colours.

And of course I am a big fan of buttons and threads; all colours and size, and of course I love painting, ageing and distressing them.

And when all the magic is ready I still need to splatter a bit so everyone will know that I am that type (who loves to splatter).

When it was all dry I applied my fall piece on my bag with different kinds of stitches.

According to the weather report we are going to have a gorgeous weekend so hopefully I can take my new tote bag for a nice walk.

I am sharing my tote bag with Craft hoarders anonymous challenge #17 Happy Fall, Y’all!

And don’t forget that our Autumn magic Spring wonder challenge at Anything but a card is continuing, so you still have the best chance to get inspired and enter as well.

Thanks for visiting and have a marvellous weekend!

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Home deco, Mixed media, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Fall magic tote bag

  1. vicki ross says:

    Nice project, Ruth! I can just see it filled with art supplies!

  2. massofhair says:

    Wonderful panel and tote bag Ruth, lots of great colours and splats!

    I use fabric for bag tags/charms and am just starting to get into using free motion embroidery, it is lots of fun.

    I might investigate fiber art next year as i like the idea of combining paints, stitching and fabrics together.

    Have a fab weekend:-) xxx

  3. I love your upside down rain Ruth…Love your bag!!

  4. Great tote to carry around just about anything… thanks for sharing your creative moments.

  5. lostcoastscrapper1 says:

    Awesome Fall Tote!! Thanks for joining us at Craft Hoarders Anonyous!

  6. zksmith says:

    Very unusual project for you, Ruth. Or perhaps it’s just unusual for me – I didn’t know you could sew?

    • lerusho says:

      Zsuzsa, fashion design is one of my MA’s, I make my own designs, I draw my own patterns and I sew, one of the creative directions I was walking down on 😉

  7. smithgfb says:

    Your tote is just wonderful! Thanks for joining us at Craft Hoarders Anonymous!

  8. Pam bray says:

    Fabulous Tote…Thanks for joining us on the Craft Hoarders Anonymous Challenge Blog.

  9. What a great tote. Thanks for sharing with us at Craft Hoarders Anon 🙂

  10. Debbie says:

    Love your tote! Thanks for playing along with Craft Hoarders Anonymous!

  11. kampysgirl says:

    Wonderful Ruth! And I love that plank barkcloth!

  12. This is fantastic, Ruth. So useful and so pretty! I am amazed at your ideas for using your artistic talents! This one is just fab! Thanks for playing along with us this week at Craft Hoarders Anonymous!

  13. Anita Mistry says:

    That’s a really pretty bag and useful to. Anita

Leave a Reply

