Walking through the trees deep into the forest

Deep in the forest the monthly theme at Art journal Journey, somehow it stayed in my mind and as at Journal 52 the prompt is to experiment, I was beginning to play in my art journal.

As usual first I was arranging an scrap collage on my spread.

I continued to add some texture with texture paste that I coloured with metal paints to get a shadow-faded effect.

I tried to apply some mystery colours by using Lindy’s stamp gang sprays and Glimmer mist sprays.

I found a great forest image and some old shoes, I used 7 dots studio sticker for the text, and I added some ephemeras and some found objects to my main image. I was just experimenting.

I stamped with distress ink tiny bees from Stampotique originals as I love winged things.

Then I wanted more winged things so I decided to use tiny bird also from Stampotique. Finally I splattered some ecoline around my spread.

And that was my forest experiment for this week, hope you enjoyed it!

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal, Mixed media and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Walking through the trees deep into the forest

  1. Barbara B. says:

    A wonderful Page. Thank you for showing us the origin bit by bit.

  2. sheila 77 says:

    How fascinating to watch your experiments, thanks for the progress shots abd description. I like your unusual find of old boots in the forest.

  3. froebelsternchen says:

    A great page Ruth.. the photograph is so special –love what you made here – thank you for sharing your progress and joining AJJ once more…fabulous!
    xxx
    Susi

  4. Ruth, I really like this page! One of my favorite things to do is hiking and walking in the woods! You really gave it that “feel,” if you know what I mean and the forest image with the shoes was brilliant! Love it! Just the right color and texture as well! You do “experimenting” very well! LOL Blessings! πŸ™‚

  5. More fantastic stencilling and I think I need that texture paste. You have created such a feel of depth to the forest. Of course the addition of the bees cements it for me but I’m loving the boots too!

  6. Diane says:

    Thank you for sharing…the journal is amazing. And appreciate the information on how you created it.

  7. zksmith says:

    I like seeing how you build up your pages through each layer! Very educational for me!

  8. This is so beautiful Ruth! so many layers, colors…all I love. Thank you for sharing your art

  9. Pingback: Journals | Pearltrees

  10. massofhair says:

    Those boots were made to walk in your forest… Such an amazing page, good to see how you start your pages off and build up each layer.

    A joy as always Ruth:-) xxx

  11. Margik says:

    Fabulous page and a genial idea!

  12. kampysgirl says:

    What a great spread Ruth- love those baby shoes and the background for them! xo

Leave a Reply

