Fly angel boy, fly!

A friend of mine, who was cleaning up his father’s house attic for sale, found a pile of old postcards in a travellers’ coffer. I had the opportunity as royalty free images to scan them and well now I can play around with them. This man was also on one of them, and he looked at me from that vintage card with eyes saying please let me fly. So I decided I am going to give him wings. So angel boy was born.

I enjoyed so much the vintage photo tinting, which is challenge #12 at Compendium of Curiosities 3, that I decided to play the second time with a different photo. My background is all metallic, because Vintage Journey holds the challenge of heavy metal this time around. At of respect for Tim Holtz, I won’t share all the details, but I will tell you which technique I used, you can get his book and play along as well.

So I was beginning with a canvas piece that I applied on a grunge board, then painted with distress paint to silver metallic.

Then I used some texture paste that I mixed up with some more paint with ornament stencil and applied on my canvas. When it dried I played with Tim’s painted industrial technique (pg 46) to add a rusty look to the ornaments.

I was getting my smaller background image ready by using metal foil and embossing folder and the above mentioned industrial painted technique (pg 46) to rust that one as well.

And then in the same way I was preparing my layered wings and used Sizzix die to cut them.

 Finally I trimmed my photo and after using vintage photo tinting technique (pg 41) I added my wings to my dear gentleman.

Finally I assembled my canvas, my industrial rusted background, a piece of metal fence, and my winged gentleman. I added the word “fly” with alpha chips.

Isn’t he an adorable “super angel boy to the rescue”? Just take a closer look.

I am sharing angel boy with Compendium of Curiosities challenge #12, that is sponsored by Funkie Junkie Boutique.

And I am sharing him with Vintage Journey challenge #16 heavy metal.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Canvas, Mixed media, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Fly angel boy, fly!

  1. Patty says:

    I just love this Ruth! I love the vintage feel to it. hugs, Patty

  2. Terry says:

    What a great photo and find. Love the added wings and I agree, he does look as if he was asking to fly! The background metal panel looks fabulous. Thank you for sharing with us at A Vintage Journey.

  3. Oh brilliant – you have showcased that image perfectly. Love the stencilling and the addition of the wings is inspired.

  4. candycolwell says:

    Ruth…this is SUCH a cool piece! I love your backgrounds. The embossing on the canvas, the metallic embossed piece, all of the rusted metallic technique, the wings, that amazing photograph of the man who reminds me of some sort of a circus aerialist or something. He definitely needed to FLY! Great job of photo tinting. I love this piece! Thanks for sharing your art with all of us at CC3C. ❤ Candy

  5. Wow…I love the techniques that you used Ruth…Fantastic!!

  6. zksmith says:

    The stenciling is awesome!

  7. vicki ross says:

    Love it, Ruth! Angel Boy is built 🙂

  8. massofhair says:

    WOW WOW WOW!!!

    So beautiful Ruth, every little bit on your canvas is awesome. Am sat here with my jaw dropped and my heart smiling.

    🙂 xxx

  9. A very cool piece Ruth! Amazing backgrounds and love the image used. Your metals look wonderful. A fantastic original piece of art. LOVE IT! Karen.x

  10. You always do such cool work. You’re right, this boy wants to fly. Love those textured corners and the photo tinting is amazing!

  11. Ruth this is an awesome piece of work and how luck are you to have all those photos out of the attic – I’m sure you will do them proud

  12. love that you gave him wings, they so suit him! Thanks for playing along with the CC3 Challenge, hope to see you again soon x

  13. HOW FUN IS THIS?!!! Love the background and all these layers! His coloring and wings are wonderful too! Thanks so much for joining us on the Distress Photo Tinting Challenge at CC3Challenge!!!

  14. What a nice friend to gift you with those vintage cards
    AND
    that fellow is fabulous (he reminds me a little in the face of Bill Murray back in the day)
    L♥ve how you created your angel boy Ruth
    and those wings are perfect!
    oxo

  15. He is certainly fabulous!!! So much glorious texture along with your tinting… love your unique piece. Thanks for sharing it with us at CC3C!

  16. kampysgirl says:

    He is fabulous Ruth!- truly my new favorite!

  17. Brenda Brown says:

    A fabulously creative piece, love it. Thanks for sharing at A Vintage Journey. xx

Leave a Reply

