Voyage

Challenge #12 at Compendium of Curiosities 3 is distress photo tinting, that you can find in Tim Holtz’s book at pg 41. This time it is sponsored by Funkie Junkie Boutique. I took my turn with a tag.

The photo is an old postcard that I scanned, I found it very funny, I thought it might be the  forerunner of  those small electric city cars, easy to park, and cheap to run. So I had to play with it. I used the distress photo tinting technique (pg. 41) and this was the result:

I just wonder where was she hiding her shopping, or she didn’t buy any craft supplies…?

I applied my photo on a tag, I used different stencils on the background with distress ink, among them the eye chart, because it is extremely important to have a good sight in nowadays rush hours… and added some texture paste to have some texture of course.

And added some embellishments (like a distressed canvas stripe, rusted paperclip and distress embossed chevron grunge board).

And finally here it was, Voyage – tag.

Why don’t you jump over to the Compendium of Curiosities 3. blog for inspiration from the great Design team there?

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Mixed media, Showcase, Tags and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Voyage

  1. Ruth, I LOVE this tag! I just giggled looking at it! I totally agree…where is she hiding the stash, LOL? Great fun color and texture! Love it! Blessings!

  2. Hi Ruth!
    Great Tag and beautiful texture you made.
    Thank you for your lovely comment on my blog. Have a great Evening.
    XO Sandra

  3. zksmith says:

    This is just too cool! Don’t laugh but my favourite bit is that paper clip – I don’t know why, but I really like that!

  4. candycolwell says:

    Oh Ruth…this is fabulous! I so love your background tag. The texture, the fabric scrap and the various patterns and colors you have going on are great! That vintage photo is awesome! I LOVE IT! Your distress photo tinting on the license tag is wonderful! I love it best when only a one or two things are highlighted with this technique. Thanks for sharing your art with us at CC3C. ❤ Candy

  5. j.ajabad says:

    So gorgeous! It grabbed my eye immediately. Very nice. 😀

  6. Such a fun tag and as ever, the varied textures seal the deal. I think she may have a trailer behind her that we just can’t see OR she is racing back from work to take delivery of her online order!

  7. Love this one, Ruth! Just the right amount of vintage whimsey. I think she bought LOTS of craft supplies and that car behind her is full of them. She’s got her hand out, directing the driver, “this way to my craft room!!!”. Great job on the tint technique, great job on the tag. Love it!

  8. That is a fun mini car she has there and great what you’ve done with the photo in your cool tag Ruth..the fabric fringe off to the side is a great touch too!
    Thank you for your warm welcome back.
    I hope to get back on a creative track very soon.
    oxo

  9. marjiekemper says:

    Beautiful! Love the rusty bits and that gal is quite a character too… thanks for joining us at CC3C!

  10. Yvonne Blair says:

    This is such a fun tag! I love the way you tinted your photo…and it looks like she is on the race to find some fun herself! Love the tag as well! Thank you for sharing with us at CC3C!

Leave a Reply

