New Sunday sentiments

As you could already read on my social medias, my friend Zsuzsa Karoly-Smith is running a new link party at sundays, no challenge, no must makes, just whatever you feel like. So Zsuzsa that’s what I made for your first week linky:

My sentiment is a quote from the big master, Leonardo da Vinci: “Learning never exhausts the mind!” In my translation rather experimenting never wears me out. Yeah, exactly, every and each spread, card, lay out or canvas is an experiment of mine. I never know where I end up, but that’s the most beautiful part of all. This particular one was beginning with a simple scrap collage.

Then I added some texture paste using Finnabair’s honeycomb stencil and some stamping (prima marketing #960131) with archival ink (watering can).

At that moment I wanted to add some colour, my choice was ecoline this time (sky blue, saffron yellow, lemon yellow).

I was writing my sentiment with gel pen, I applied some embellishments and coloured me texture paste with silk acrylics.

At the upper corner I added some embellishments, and some Finnabair art ingredients with soft gel (glass glitter platinum, glass beads zinc).

The left corner is some texture paste stamped on and then painted with inks gold.

Finally I added some shine and splatter with Lindy’s stamp gang sprays.

I am sharing my spread with Sunday sentiments and with Journal 52 prompt experiment.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal, Mixed media, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to New Sunday sentiments

  1. I love how you often start with some pieces of scrap on a page and then the process of transformation, wow mindblowing

  2. I like the sentiment Ruth and your page has lots of interesting textures…love it!!

  3. Wow love the texture in this! Yes, learning is challenging, but never exhausting.

  4. Cindy Wirl says:

    Love the sentiment, so true!
    I second Vicky’s comment, your creative process is mind blowing!

  5. zksmith says:

    Thank you for making such a beautiful project, Ruth, for my link share! It’s absolutely stunning! My eyes were soaking up all those yummy textures in your close up photos on Flickr! And it feels like the sentiment was written directly for me! It’s funny, I’m just working on a piece featuring one of Leonardo’s portraits! Coincidence? I don’t believe in coincidences!

    • lerusho says:

      You said that actually the book pages covered an experiment, that didn’t succeed, so this sentiment popped in my mind and I was running with it. Happy that you like it šŸ™‚

  6. kampysgirl says:

    o very Beautiful Ruth! Love love your texture’s girlfriend!! xoxo

  7. Anita Mistry says:

    Stunning I love your journal page all those textures I want to reach through my computer and touch it.

  8. Pallavi says:

    Lovely textutes.I love to see step by step instructions.It’s fascinating to see the transformation of a page.

  9. vicki ross says:

    Nice, Ruth. Loved the concise process pics and materials!

  10. Loretta says:

    I would love to try something like this but I think mine would be more mess than art. I like this , no! I “love” everything about this. Your step by step pics are excellent too. Makes me want to try. Thanks for inspiring a novice.

  11. Tracy says:

    So true, Ruth. Learning and experimenting energise me. Love all the textures on your page – so much to look at and new things to see each time you look.

  12. Ruth, this is just beautiful! You just continually create such wonderful art that NEVER exhausts the eye to take in and learn from! Thank you for always sharing your creativity with us! šŸ™‚

  13. I love the deep texture…are you journaling on canvas pages…you are prolific!

  14. massofhair says:

    Stunning Ruth, each piece on your page is perfection šŸ™‚ xxx

Leave a Reply

