Hug me…

At Stampotique designers’ challenge Kim is asking us to create a masculine card. Psst Kim I am not a great card maker, but this is what I was coming up.

As you know I love layering and lately I found so many inspiration of triple layered cards on the net, so I wanted to try that and create something with my own twist on it. Here is the lay out before I began with stamping:

So actually it’s three black layers and three white layers. I took my white cards and distress them with antique linen distress ink, then I constructed the lay out only from the distressed cards with masking tape.

I used black soot distress ink to stamp my sentiment (#4010 from Kira Nichols). Then I used France Papillon’s splattered mug with vintage photo distress ink and to create some texture I added distress embossing powder on it.

While it was cooling, I used Daniel Torrente’s Mervynboy (#6144) with archival ink to stamp my image and then I coloured it. Finally I trimmed it. I disassembled my distressed and stamped white cards and applied them on their black background. I assembled the cards again and added my image. Finally I dropped a slight shadow with charcoal behind Mervyn.

Don’t forget to give yourself a hug, Mervyn !!!

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Cards, Lay-outs, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Hug me…

  1. dannylion says:

    great job! love it!

  2. Kathi R says:

    Sorry to contradict you, but I think, judging from this card, you are an excellent card maker.

    I love how your stamped images continue from one layer to the next and also love how you colored Mervynboy!

    Thanks for playing along with us this week at Stampotique Designers Challenges!

  3. rozwil says:

    Your card is great Ruth…love the distressed look and that stamp and sentiment is very cool!

  4. mrsbeez says:

    I agree with Kathi – your card is superb and to nail a man card is no mean achievement. The crumpling and splattering are perfect.

  5. Susan Carol says:

    really cool card and I love the sentiment.

  6. Kay Wallace says:

    You scored high on this one, Ruth! WooHoo! Love the layering, but, mostly, I love how you put it all together. I couldn’t figure out how your layers were so perfectly aligned, so I am glad you gave us the step-by-step directions. Will definitely try it–thanks for the inspiration! I am happy that you have become a “regular” at the Stampotique Designers’ Challenge each week!

  7. zksmith says:

    LOL, that’s so sweet! Your little guy is both cute and ugly at the same time!

  8. Corrie says:

    I love the triple layer technique and have used it as well. Your take on it is wonderful !
    Thanks for joining us over at Stampotique this week !
    Corrie x

  9. *Arwen* says:

    This is brilliant Ruth! Not a card maker? Haha, just kidding me
    Thanks for joining us at Stampotique Designers Challenge πŸ™‚

    xx Arwen

  10. massofhair says:

    Stunning card, have to agree qlwith other commenters you can definitely make fantastic cards Ruth:-) xxx

  11. kaz says:

    It’s an awesome background for your card Ruth! Thanks for joining us again this week at Stampotique.

  12. Kim Howard says:

    For you “claiming” not to be a cardmaker you sure did one heck of a job! This card is fabulous and I love the layers of it. Thanks for joining my challenge this week at Stampotique Deisgner’s Challenge.

  13. Very sweet Ruth, love that pop of colour!
    Thanks for joining in with us at Stampotique πŸ™‚

  14. Thassos456 :) says:

    Beautiful card. Love the layering, gives the card a fab unusual look πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

